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The Nevada State Treasurer’s Office Unclaimed 
Property Division is committed to assisting holders 
maintain compliance with reporting requirements. 

 
Please do not hesitate to reach out should you 

have any questions or comments: 

 
Phone: (702) 486-4140 

 
Fax: (702) 486-4177 

 
Website: http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/ 

 
Email: NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov 
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QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE 
 

Remit and report 
due date 

Non-insurance businesses must report and pay before November 1 for property presumed 
abandoned as of June 30 of the previous fiscal year. 

 
Insurance businesses must report and pay before May 1 for property presumed abandoned 
as of December 31 of the previous year. 

 
Reports are filed by fiscal year; it is currently FY 24. Nevada’s fiscal year begins July 1st 
and ends June 30th. 

Negative reports If your business is incorporated or you are a licensed business owner in Nevada, or you are 
otherwise located or doing business in Nevada, you must file an annual negative report of 
unclaimed property if you have no property to report. 
 
Negative reports must be filed through the Nevada Unclaimed Property Division’s (“the 
Division”) online holder reporting portal (“the Portal”). Reports received by any other method 
than through the Portal will not be accepted unless you have received written authorization 
from the Division. 

Due diligence Must be performed within 60 —120 days prior to submitting a report. See page 14 for 
details. 

Remittances Payments are required by law to be remitted to the Division via ACH debit. Prior to remitting 
payment, be sure to contact your bank to provide them with the Division’s company code 
(D886000022) to allow ACH debit transactions. Failure to do so will cause a payment to 
reject.  Delays in receiving successful payments may lead to assessments of penalties and/or 
interest. 

 
ACH credit, wire transfers, checks, or other payment methods without prior written 
authorization will result in a fee that cannot be retroactively waived. An exception form 
(UP10) may be accessed via the following link:  ACH Debit Exception Request Form. An 
exception request is for a single remittance and does not establish approval for any future 
reporting or remittances. 

Aggregate 
reporting 

Aggregate reporting is not permitted. Holders must list all abandoned property owner detail 
for each property, regardless of the amount being reported. There is no minimum property 
value threshold to report. 

Fees Payment by ACH debit is mandatory. A holder who fails to make a payment as required will 
be assessed a fee by the Division. The fee will be the greater of $50 or 2 percent of the 
amount of the payment. Written authorization is required from the Division for a holder to 
file a report or submit payment other than by ACH debit through the Portal.  There is no 
method to waive this fee without prior written authorization being obtained. 

Penalties and 
interest 

See page 21 for information. 

Safe-deposit 
boxes 

See page 19-20 for information. 

Stock registration 
and delivery 

See page 17-18 for instructions. 

Mutual funds See page 18-19 for instructions. 
Dividend 

reinvestment 
plans 

See page 17-18 for instructions. 
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WHAT’S NEW – RECENT CHANGES AND UPDATES 
 

NEW  

Interest on Lawyer’s Trust Accounts (IOLTA) 

Nevada Rule of Professional Conduct 1.15(f) provides direction to lawyers and law firms on what to do with unclaimed or 
unidentified funds in their Nevada client trust accounts. Consistent with SCR 78 and NRPC 1.15(f), if a lawyer or law firm has 
made reasonable but unsuccessful efforts to disburse funds from their IOLTA account to the rightful owner, those funds may be 
remitted to the State Bar of Nevada’s Clients’ Security Fund after a term of five years. During the five-year term, reasonable 
efforts must have been made to identify and locate the rightful owner.  For information regarding this requirement, click on this 
link.  These funds may no longer be reported as abandoned property to Nevada Unclaimed Property. 

Assembly Bill 55 
Assembly Bill 55 (AB55) of the 2023 Nevada Legislative Session made several changes to Nevada’s unclaimed 
property laws and became effective on July 1, 2023.  The current online version of Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 
120A does not yet reflect these changes.  Please refer directly to the bill to ensure compliance with new or 
changed holder requirements.   The full text of the enrolled bill may be found online at: 
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/82nd2023/Bill/9611/Text#.  
 
NRS 120A.125 – This section has been amended to update parties responsible for reporting abandoned safety deposit 
box contents.  Financial institution was modified to “financial organization.”  All other previously required parties remain 
unchanged.  This change was a clarifying change to maintain consistency throughout the chapter. The Division does not 
anticipate any functional changes as a result of this update. 
 
NRS 120A.500 - This section has been amended to reflect the following changes: 

 The period of abandonment for: 
o Stocks and other equity was amended from a returned mail standard to activity/interest based standard. 
o Life/endowment/annuity insurance contracts was amended to: 

 Specifically address retained asset accounts, which were previously reportable but not 
specifically addressed.   

 Include the date of the death of the insured rather than the date the holder obtained knowledge 
of death.   

 Include the date of the contract’s maturity. 
 Applies to matured, unmatured and terminated contracts where an obligation to pay exists. 

o Insurance policies not qualifying as life/endowment/annuity insurance is not specifically addressed as due 
3 years after the obligation to pay arose under contract terms, where it was previously reportable under 
the “all other property” requirements.  Additionally, the period of abandonment applies to matured, 
unmatured and terminated contracts where an obligation to pay exists. 

o Tax deferred/exempt IRAs was amended to be solely based on IRS required minimum distribution dates. 
o IRA accounts other than tax-deferred/exempt are specifically addressed as due 3 years after the 

property became distributable.  This property was previously reportable under “all other property” 
requirements. 

o Pre-need Burial/Funeral Contracts were amended to clarify the definition of beneficiary complies with 
NRS 689.  Additionally, under NRS 120A.500(7) now includes an additional dormancy trigger.  Where 
the owner’s date of birth is not documented and the holder has not obtained knowledge of the 
beneficiary’s death, the property is reportable 40 years after the contract’s execution or three years 
from the last indication of owner interest, whichever is later. 

o Stocks/equity, debts of a business, demand/savings/time deposits, IRAs and “All other properties” not 
specifically addressed in statute are now required to begin when the holder obtains knowledge of the 
owner’s death.  

 Tax-deferred/exempt IRAs where the owner is deceased are granted exemptions to the IRS 
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required minimum distributions under certain circumstances.  Those exemptions also apply to the 
requirement to report those properties. 

 Indications of owner interest were amended to: 
o Exclude actions made by the holder or the holder’s agent. 
o Include signed certified mail receipts, where certified mail is sent. 
o Include the execution of foreign tax forms for foreign claimants. 
o Exclude automatically renewable deposits or withdrawals where the holder or holder’s agent were a 

party to the transaction. 
 Definitions added under NRS 120A.500: 

o Knowledge of death 
o Proof of death 
o Retained asset accounts.  

 
NRS 120A.520 – Gift certificates period of abandonment now includes the date when the holder discontinued honoring 
the instrument.  Additionally, the requirement to report unknown owner information under the Treasurer’s Office name and 
address was removed.  This will now be reportable with “unknown” in all respective fields. 
 
NRS 120A.560 - This section has been amended to reflect the following changes: 

 All owner information known or readily ascertainable by the holder is required to be included in the report, 
regardless of the property type. 

 When the holder has missing or partial owner information, the known information is required to be reported with 
unknown owner information reported as “unknown.” 

 Due diligence – first class mailing standards for stocks, equity, retirement accounts, or other virtual currency 
valued at $1,000 or more were replaced with a certified mailing standard.  This change is aimed at protecting 
the claimant and the holder to provide proof that an attempt was made to notify the owner prior to the property 
being transferred and/or liquidated during the reporting process.  Note that the requirement to email the 
notification is still required when the owner has consented to receiving emails regardless of the type of mail being 
sent and is required in addition to the mailed notification. 

 
NRS 120A.660 – This standard was modified to no longer require pre-approval for early properties to be reported.  
The administrator reserves the right to reject early reported properties. 
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GENERAL INFORMATION 

What is unclaimed property? 

Unclaimed property can be any financial asset owed to another business or individual. Property is considered 
abandoned when there has been no activity or contact with an owner for a specific period. The property type will 
determine the abandonment period; however, it is typically three years. When a holder’s attempts to locate the 
rightful owner have been unsuccessful, the assets must be reported and remitted to the Nevada State Treasurer’s 
Unclaimed Property Division. The Division will hold the assets in perpetuity and publicly advertise the rightful owners’ 
information in an effort to return the property. Once the assets are reported and remitted to the Division, the holder 
is released from those liabilities. 

Nevada’s Unclaimed Property program is governed by Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 120A, and Nevada 
Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 120A. 

 
Reporting requirements 

Nevada law requires all governmental entities, business organizations, and individuals (“holders”) to annually review 
their financial records to determine whether they are holding any funds, securities, other intangible properties, and 
certain tangible properties that have remained unclaimed for the required dormancy period. Dormancy periods vary 
by property type. [Appendix A] If holders are holding unclaimed property, they must file a report and remit the 
property to the state of the owners’ last known addresses. Each state’s unclaimed property program is governed by 
the local state’s laws.  Each state’s reporting website can be found at: https://unclaimed.org/state-reporting/.  
Failure to report to the appropriate state may result in penalties and/or interest in both states. 

Please note, there is no minimum property value threshold report amount. Any amount meeting Nevada abandoned 
property requirements is reportable. Holders of unclaimed property are required to report property in the 
appropriate report year. 

Reports and remittances received after the required due date are subject to penalties and interest under the 
provisions of NRS 120A.730. If assessed, the holder will be provided a link to the Penalties and Interest Waiver 
request form via email.  If a holder believes that they are unable to make the reporting deadline, they should 
consider submitting a request for extension. See “extensions” in this manual.  Note that all forms can be found on the 
Forms page of the Division’s website.   

If no unclaimed property is found, businesses may still be required to prepare a “negative” report for submission to 
the Division. 

 
What must be reported? 

Property in which no contact from the owner has been received by the holder after performing due diligence, or in 
which the owner cannot be located after the required statutory period has lapsed, must be reported. 

Examples of reportable items include, but are not limited to, wages, commissions, payroll or salary checks, utility 
deposits, refunds, checks, money orders, traveler’s checks, safe-deposit box contents, stocks, and gift 
cards/certificates. In addition, Nevada domiciled holders must report items to Nevada that have no owner name 
or address, as well as all items where the last known address is in a foreign country. 

Reportable items and their respective property codes and abandonment periods, as well as dormancy period charts 
are located in Appendix A. 
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Who must report? 

Any entity or individual with the potential to have custody of property described above is considered a holder of 
unclaimed property and is required to report the property to the state via the Division. This includes attorneys, 
CPAs, medical professionals, and holders of property in other states in custody of property owed to a Nevada 
resident. Any entity conducting business within the state of Nevada that has branches, divisions, or other affiliates, 
is responsible for filing on their behalf, such as those listed below.  Each entity with a unique FEIN, including those 
listed below, is separately responsible for reporting and remitting abandoned properties in their custody. 

 
Financial institutions 

Banking and financial organizations including banks, trust companies, savings banks, safe-deposit companies, private 
banks, savings and loan associations, credit unions, investment companies, whether state or federally chartered. 

 
Businesses 

Business associations, corporations, sole proprietorships, partnerships, retail, cooperatives, transfer agents, fiduciaries, 
mutual funds, insurance, limited liability, business trust, or other association for business purposes of two or more 
individuals, whether or not for profit (including all insurance entities). 

 
Utilities 

Utilities owned or operated for public use, including any plant, equipment, property, franchise, or licensee for the 
transmission of communications or the production, storage transmission, sale, delivery, or furnishing of electricity, 
water, steam, or gas. 

 
Government 

Any property held by a court, government, governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality. Governments are 
subject to unique dormancy requirements, please see Appendix A. 

 
Help us help you 

The Division strives to reunite owners with their property within 120 days of the submission of a claim (NRS120A.640). 
Prior to preparing and remitting holder reports, please ensure that all known information pertaining to the owner or 
account is included in the report. In doing so, holders will help us help them by eliminating the need to direct claimants 
back to holders or contact holders for assistance in processing claims. The owners’ complete names, addresses, and 
social security numbers, as well as account and/or check numbers are essential in verifying the rightful owner during 
claims processing. 

Each year voluntary compliance continues to increase. It is the Division’s responsibility to maintain the integrity of the 
data received for ease of use for property owners, timely payment of claims, and to ensure that holders report and 
remit all unclaimed property in the manner as set forth by Nevada law. 
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HOLDER REPORTING OVERVIEW 
 
In the holder’s annual review of their records to determine reporting liabilities, the holder should 
determine the state the property is required to be reported to, the dormancy period for the type of 
property under that state’s laws, and the state’s reporting requirements, including due diligence 
requirements, and reporting deadlines.  The information contained in this document is provided to 
assist holders in understanding Nevada’s Unclaimed Property reporting requirements.  All statutory 
references herein are based on revisions made through AB55. 
 
Determining which state to report to 
Rules of taking custody – NRS 120A.530 – This requirement stems from various US Supreme Court rulings (TX v NJ, PA v 

NY, DE v PA and WI, AK v DE), the majority of the contents of this statute apply regardless of the holder’s state of 

incorporation or state principal operations. 

 Most properties are reportable to the state of the owner’s last known address according to the holder’s books and 

records, even when the holder has received returned mail.   

 When the holder does not have record of the owner’s address or the owner’s address is in a foreign country, the 

property is reportable to the holder’s state of incorporation.  If the holder’s state of incorporation has changed, the 

property is reportable to the holder’s state of incorporation at the time the property was presumed abandoned. 

 If the property is a traveler’s check, money order or other similar instrument, and the owner’s address is not 

recorded in the holder’s records, the property is reportable to the state the instrument was purchased. 

 Other caveats may arise for life/endowment/annuity contracts and where the owner has passed and the ownership 

of the property vests to a beneficiary. 

Note that while Nevada participates in reciprocal reporting, Nevada is not party to any active reciprocal agreements.  

Therefore, the holder is required to report to the proper state to avoid potential report rejections and/or penalties and 

interest assessments in both Nevada and any other state(s) the property may be reportable to. 

Determining dormancy – NRS 120A.500, NRS 120A.510, NRS 120A.520  

Determining when a property is presumed abandoned and necessary to report is a challenging topic and depends on 
property type. NRS 120A.500 addresses both the occurrence that starts the dormancy clock and the necessary time 
period that must pass before property is presumed abandoned, and therefore, reportable. Occurrences that trigger 
the dormancy clock include events such as dates an obligation to pay arose, distribution dates, an owner reaching a 
certain age, and the last time an owner indicated an interest in the property. Various industry terms, such as “last 
activity date” or “last transaction date” are commonly used to describe these occurrences which starts the clock to 
determine dormancy. When reviewing records, it is necessary to understand the type of property held and review 
NRS 120A.500 to establish what the applicable occurrence and associated period until the property is deemed 
abandoned. When preparing a report, the applicable triggering event is the date to be included as the “last activity 
date”. 

Special Note About Checks:  In most circumstances, a check issuance date alone does not qualify as a triggering 
event.  Additionally, the means by which the obligation to pay arose should determine the period of abandonment.  A 
check on its own does not have a specifically identified period of abandonment.  Check dates do not always 
represent the proper last activity date as the issuance may not occur on the date the that an owner expressed interest 
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in a property (as there may be timing differences and holders often reissue checks without the express consent of the 
owner).  Additionally, for certain types of property, the date a check was issued may not be representative of the 
dormancy triggers.  Checks are issued based on an obligation to pay to an owner.  How that obligation to pay arises 
impacts what triggers the dormancy period and the length of the dormancy period that the property is held before it 
is presumed abandoned. 

 

Special considerations for determining dormancy or applicability to reporting requirements: 
Gaming establishments – NRS 120A.135 

Gaming establishments () in Nevada are subject to the same reporting laws as any other entity conducting 
business that is required to remit property pursuant to NRS 120A. Gaming establishments are also responsible 
for reporting and remitting front money, safekeeping deposits at the cage, wagering accounts, and other cash 
deposits held on behalf of a patron. 

The following items are NOT considered abandoned property and should not be remitted as unclaimed property: 

 Underage jackpots 

 Unclaimed winnings where the owner has NOT met all statutory requirements to be paid. 

 Chip floats 

 Ticket in/ticket out payments (TITO) 

 Loose money, chips, cameras, eyeglasses, etc. 

 Items left in a hotel in-room safe or in a casino safety deposit box 
  
Gift certificates – NRS 120A.520 & NRS 120A.020 

Gift certificate is defined by and subject to Nevada laws contained in NRS 598.0921 and NRS 
120A.520, respectively. The expiration date of a gift certificate, which now includes the date the 
holder no longer honors the instrument, will determine its required reporting and remittance. 

If a gift certificate was issued on or after October 1, 2007, the following rule applies: 

 The gift certificate is reported and remitted in the time period in which it expires. There is no dormancy 
period. It is reported and remitted at 60% of the remaining face value (businesses can retain 40%). If the 
certificate has no expiration date, it is not subject to remittance and 100% of the remaining value must be 
honored indefinitely.  Note that in the event that the holder ceases operations or discontinues honoring gift 
certificate/card redemptions, the date of this change is considered the date of expiration. 

 
If the gift certificate was issued before October 1, 2007, the following rule applies: 

 If the gift certificate has not been used for at least three years, it is subject to reporting and remittance at 
100% of the remaining face value. These properties have a three-year dormancy period which includes all 
gift cards/certificates whether they expire or not. 
 

Please note, gift certificates may contain expiration dates and impose service fees that reduce the value only if 
the expiration dates or fees are printed in 10-point font on the gift certificate or it contains a toll-free number the 
owner can call to obtain the expiration date, unused balance and or service fee information. If the service fee is 
based on inactivity, the duration of such inactivity cannot be less than three years, cannot be imposed in the first 
12 months after issuance and cannot exceed $1 per month. 
 
When a gift certificate is redeemable at more than one person/business, it does not qualify under NRS 120A.520 
and must be reported under the requirements of NRS 120A.500(f) or NRS 120A.500(o), depending on the 
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circumstances.  See also NRS 598.0921(3)(a)(2). 
 
Virtual currency – NRS 120A.500(1)(q) 

“Virtual currency or interest” falls under the definition of property and, as such, is subject to unclaimed property 
laws. For reporting purposes, the property-type code for virtual currency is MS17 “Miscellaneous Currency”. 

As Nevada does not currently have the capability to receive virtual currency in native form, it is to be liquidated 
prior to submitting the report, with the cash value on the date of liquidation included on and remitted with, the 
report. As reports are due before November 1 of each year, it is recommended that the liquidation be no earlier 
than one month before remitting the report and that the date for liquidation remain consistent from year to year.  
If liquidation of these properties would cause significant market valuation issues, please contact 
NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov with the specific scenario, detailing the potential ramifications of liquidating 
the properties, for guidance. 

Preneed burial and funeral contracts – NRS 120A.500(1)(p) 
As provided in NRS 689.480(2)(a) and SB71 (2021) Section (6)(3)(d), plots, niches, crypts should not be turned 

over as unclaimed property, as they should be separately provided for and identified in the contract. 
 

 The Division will expect that the property owner be listed in compliance with NRS 689.150(3) and NRS 689.475(1). 

 Dormancy period is determined to be: 3 years after the earlier of the date the holder obtains knowledge of death 
or the date the beneficiary would have aged to 105 years. When neither can be met, the contract is reportable at 
the later of 40 years after the execution of the contract or 3 years after the last indication of owner interest. 

 
Tax Exempt and Tax Deferred IRAs – NRS 120A.500(1)(o) The dormancy period for these types of retirement 
accounts (including Roth IRAs) to begin at the time the owner would have reached the age of required minimum 
distribution pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code.  Note that deduction codes apply, as addressed in this 
Manual. 
 
All other IRAs – NRS 120A.500(1)(o) –The dormancy period for these types of accounts begins when the 
property becomes distributable. 
 
Royalties, Stocks and other accounts with continued accruals/payments – NRS 120A.500(2) – As new 
liabilities accrue on already reported accounts, newly accrued liabilities are required to be reported in the 
reporting cycle following the accrual.  The last activity date on these properties should reflect the date the new 
liability became due/demandable, even if that date may suggest the properties were reported early.  This is to 
avoid assessments of penalties and/or interest. 

Escheated estates 
Estates escheated to the State of Nevada pursuant to NRS 154.010 should NOT be remitted to the Unclaimed 
Property Division.  Please send inquiries of this nature to the Nevada Attorney General’s Office for proper 
handling.  Their contact information can be located at https://ag.nv.gov/Contact/.  

NRS  154.010 An estate escheats to and is vested in the State of Nevada for educational purposes if any 
person dies or has died, within this State, seised of any real or personal estate, and leaving no heirs, 
representatives or devisees capable of inheriting or holding the estate, and in all cases where there is no owner 
of the estate capable of holding it. Any balance remaining in a retired employee’s or beneficiary’s individual 
account under the Public Employees’ Retirement System or the Judicial Retirement System established pursuant 
to chapter 1A of NRS is not an estate within the meaning of this chapter. 
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Business to business exemptions – NRS 120A.505 

Any credit memoranda, overpayments, credits balances, deposits, unidentified remittances, non-refunded 
overcharges, discounts, refunds, and rebates due or owing from a holder that is a business association to 
another business association shall not be presumed abandoned if the holder and such business association 
have an ongoing business relationship. Please note, this statement does not apply when checks, drafts, or other 
similar instruments have been issued to settle the debt, and, therefore, must be reported as unclaimed 
property. 

An ongoing business relationship shall be deemed to exist if the holder has engaged in at least one commercial, 
business, or professional transaction involving the sale, lease, license, or purchase of goods or services with the 
business association or a predecessor-in-interest of the business association within each three-year period that 
follows the date of the transaction giving rise to the property interest that shall not be presumed abandoned. 
Once the business relationship ends, the business-to-business exemption no longer applies and the property will 
become reportable after the period of abandonment has been met. 

Note that payroll properties do NOT qualify for this exemption.  Nor does the exemption apply to properties 
where the owner is not a business. 
 

Report creation and contents 
Pursuant to NRS 120A.560, holders are required to include in their report(s) any owner identifying information they have 
on record where the reporting format allows for the field, regardless of property type or value.  Any field where the 
owner information is unknown is required to be populated as such.  Not having valid records of the property is not a valid 
reason to omit property from a report.  It is the holder’s responsibility to retain complete and accurate records, to verify 
the contents of the report and to submit the report and payment within the appropriate reporting deadlines.   
 

Properties with multiple owners 

If there is more than one owner, each name must be listed separately under the same property. Please do not list 
joint owners’ names on the same line. 

 
Aggregate properties & Minimum threshold 
Nevada does not allow properties to be reported in aggregate.  Each property must be listed individually on a 
report, regardless of the value.  As a reminder, Nevada requires all properties, regardless of value to be reported.  
There is no minimum threshold to report. 
 
Consolidated reporting 
Each holder, as identified by unique FEIN, is required to report unclaimed property they are liable for.  A third party 
may be used to conduct annual reviews, perform due diligence, report and remit properties or even administer 
properties.  However, it is each holder’s obligation to ensure compliance with Nevada’s reporting requirements.  
Holders may request approval to report consolidated (under a corporate parent company) by emailing a request to 
NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov.  However, this approval is contingent upon the reporter’s compliance history and 
other considerations.  Consolidated reporting is rarely approved, as the property owner cannot regularly produce 
evidence of a relationship with the reporting holder upon the creation of a claim. 

 
Third-party reporting agreements – NRS 120A.560(2)&(3) 

Agreements between third-party reporting entities that provide report processing and submission, payroll 
services, act as transfer agents, etc., are between a holder and the third-party reporting entity only. The State of 
Nevada and/or the Division is not a party to these agreements, nor do the agreements exempt holders of their 
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legal obligation to report and remit abandoned property. 

Be sure to retain these agreements for seven years from the date that a report (utilizing a third-party reporter) 
was submitted as they may be reviewed during an audit. 

 
Report formatting – NRS 120A.560(14)&(15) 

All reports must be submitted in NAUPA Standard Electronic File Format (NAUPA). There are a variety of NAUPA 
report preparation software programs available to Holders, most of which impose a fee.  No particular software 
is endorsed by the Division, so the Holder must ensure that the software used complies with Nevada’s formatting 
requirements and includes all fields required by Nevada law.  HRS Pro software enables holders to create 
encrypted secure files to protect all owner-sensitive data. This free software is limited to 200 properties per state 
report. If reporting more than 200 properties, the HRS Pro Enterprise Edition or other software meeting NAUPA 
requirements may be purchased. The HRS Pro Enterprise Edition provides user support and multi-user capability 
for an annual fee. There is no user support for the free edition. For more information, visit 
https://www.wagers.net/hrs/. 

When entering owner information into a report, names must be formatted as “last first middle initial”. Do 
not use commas, asterisks, dashes, or any punctuation; doing so will hinder name searches. 

Deductions to property values are limited to dormancy charges and tax withholdings  

Dormancy charges – NRS 120A.540 – SW Deduction Code 
Pursuant to NRS 120A.540, a holder may deduct from “property presumed abandoned”, a charge 
imposed by reason of the owner's failure to claim the property within a specified time only if there is a 
valid and enforceable written contract between the holder and the owner under which the holder may 
impose the charge and the holder regularly imposes the charge, which is not regularly reversed or 
otherwise cancelled. 

The code “SW” is authorized for use for Nevada properties.  

Dormancy charges cannot be more than $5 per month and only apply from the period the property is 
presumed abandoned until the time the property is due to be reported. 

Please note that holders must be able to provide the information below and maintain a record of each 
deduction for at least seven years should there be an audit, or an owner believes there is a discrepancy. 
Holder reports submitted with deductions to the Division that do not comply to NRS 120A.540 may be 
returned/rejected unprocessed to be correctly resubmitted and may be subject to penalties and interest. 

The additional following information shall be retained for deductions stemming from charges assessed on 
reported properties to ensure they were made in compliance with NRS 120A.540: 
 

 Copy of the owner’s contract representing consent for such a charge; and 

 Copy of the business entity’s policy to not regularly reverse or otherwise cancel. Evidence of routine reversal 
of charges may invalidate the deductibility of such charges. 

 
Holders in custody of Nevada property may make deductions that have been agreed upon by the property 
owner in writing at the time the account was initiated, e.g., minimum balance fees charged against a savings 
account.  Recouping due diligence expenses for costs such as postage and employee hours is NOT permitted. 
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Individual Retirement Accounts – TW Deduction Code 
On January 1, 2020, Internal Revenue Service Ruling 2018-17 became effective concerning withholding 
and reporting taxes with respect to payments from qualifying Individual Retirement Accounts (“IRAs”) to 
state unclaimed property programs. 
 
Holders reporting these properties should make use of the NAUPA Standard Deduction and Withholding code 
“TW” to represent “Income Tax Withheld”. The value “TW” should be recorded in the PROPERTY record in the 
PROP-DEDUCTION-TYPE field. The amount of Federal Tax withheld should be stored in the PROP-DEDUCTION-
AMOUNT field. This code should be used for any taxes withheld from remitted properties. The value of the 
property before the deduction should be stored in the PROP-AMOUNT-REPORTED field. The amount remitted to 
the state after the Federal Tax Withholding should be stored in the PROP-AMOUNT-REMITTED field. It is 
imperative that all withheld taxes are reflected in reports of unclaimed property, so that the claimants may be 
so advised and address this in conjunction with their tax reporting. For more information related to the NAUPA 
reporting standard, please visit: https://unclaimed.org/wp-
content/uploads/NAUPAStandardElectronicFileFormat-11.20.19.pdf 
 
Companies who withhold taxes should report and remit those taxes to the Internal Revenue Service or other 
taxing agency. Contact your legal or tax advisor for reporting and remittance instructions. For more 
information on the Revenue Ruling 2018-17, visit:  https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-18-17.pdf 

 

Due diligence requirements – NRS 120A.560 (8) 
Due diligence is a requirement that the holder send written notice to an apparent owner indicating that they are 
in the custody of an apparent owner’s property. This requirement allows an owner the opportunity to collect 
funds from a holder prior to remittance to the State, and relieves the holder of the liability to report and remit 
funds to Nevada.   

Please see Appendix B for a sample due diligence letter. 
 

Due diligence timeline 
Due diligence is required to be sent between 120 days and 60 days prior to the submission of a report.   

Please do not use the due diligence date as the date of last activity unless the date of the due diligence response 
was the last contact where the owner expressed interest in the property and no other date qualifies in accordance 
with NRS 120A. 

 
Methods of due diligence required  
 
Due diligence is required to be performed by first class mail OR certified mail, based on circumstances outlined 
below.  Additionally, email notifications are required in addition to mailed notifications in circumstances outlined 
below. 
 

 First Class Mail – Required where the owner’s property is valued at $50 or more AND the owner’s address 
documented in the Holder’s records is not known to be invalid.  Not required in instances where certified mail 
is required.  

 Certified Mail – Required where the owner’s property is in the form of stocks, retirement accounts or virtual 
currency; AND the property is valued at $1,000 or more; AND the owner’s address documented in the 
Holder’s records is not known to be invalid. 

 Email – Required when the owner has consented to receive electronic mail from the Holder; AND the email 
address documented in the Holder’s records is not known to be invalid; AND the property is valued at $50 or 
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more.  Email notification is required in addition to first class mail or certified mail requirements. 

In circumstances where the address or email address is known to be invalid, that specific form of due diligence is not 
required.  However, any other required form of due diligence is still required to be performed.  In instances where 
any known address or email address is known to be invalid, no due diligence is required to be performed, but the 
property is still reportable. 
 
Additional due diligence considerations 
It is to a holder’s advantage to return funds to an owner rather than to the Division. Owners who still maintain a 
business relationship with a holder become frustrated when property is unnecessarily remitted. If notice is not 
sent due to the holder’s records indicating that address/email address is invalid, the holder may be subject to 
penalties if it is discovered that owner addresses included in a report are valid. 

All holders should check their records to determine if owners have other associated accounts that may be 
active, which eliminates the need to remit property. 
 
Holder reporting requires holders to attest that they have performed due diligence pursuant to NRS 
120A.560 and are authorized to electronically sign on behalf of the reporting entity before a report can 
be submitted. 
 
Please retain all documents related to due diligence, as it will be used in the event of an audit; however, 
holders should not submit proof of due diligence with a report. 
 

Reporting and remittance deadlines, methods required and other considerations. 

Reporting and Remittance Deadlines – NRS 120A.560(7)&(8) 
Insurance entities’ reports are due before May 1st of each year for property presumed abandoned 
during the calendar year ending December 31st. 

All other business entities’ reports are due before November 1st of each year for property presumed 
abandoned during the fiscal year ending June 30th. 

Refer to the remit year tables in Appendix A to determine when property is due to be reported.  Depending on the 
type of property, if there has been documented contact with an owner where the owner expressed interest in the 
property, the property is no longer considered abandoned and dormancy periods are reset. 

 
When is the earliest reports can be submitted? 
 
For reports that do not require due diligence (i.e., no property values exceeded $50 or all last known addresses 
are known to be invalid), holders may submit reports beginning on July 1 (Jan. 1 for insurance). Otherwise, 
determining when holder reports can be submitted is dependent on the date in which due diligence letters were 
sent. As a reminder, the earliest due diligence letters can legally be mailed is 120 days prior to the date the 
holder report is filed, and the latest due diligence letters can legally be mailed is 60 days prior to the date the 
holder report is filed. For example, if due diligence letters are mailed on July 3rd (January 3rd  for insurance 
entities), a holder could submit a report beginning on September 3rd (March 3rd for insurance entities). 

Nevada reports are filed by fiscal year which begins annually on July 1st and ends on June 30th. It is 
currently FY 2024. Nevada’s fiscal year 2025 will begin on July 1, 2025. 

Reports submitted with property that has not reached its dormancy period may be rejected pursuant to 
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NRS 120A.660.  Early reported properties must comply with due diligence requirements..   
 
Online reporting – NRS 120A.560 (14)&(15) 

Please note, online reporting and payment is mandatory.  Holder reports and payments are required to be 
filed and submitted electronically through the Portal. For step-by-step instructions on using the Portal, please 
review the Holder Module User Manual available at the following link: 
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/
Hold er_Module_User_Manual.pdf. 

 

Should a holder believe they are unable to meet the deadlines for reporting and remittance, they are 
encouraged to submit an extension request.  Reports submitted past the deadline or which contain properties that 
are deemed late, are subject to assessments of penalties and/or interest.  Both of these areas are addressed in 
the compliance section of this Manual. 

 
Foreign holders / holders without a TIN / FEIN 

The Portal requires and verifies certain data contained in a report when it is uploaded, which includes a 
holder’s FEIN/TIN. If a holder does not have a FEIN/TIN, holders must enter “33-3333333” in the FEIN/TIN 
field of a holder report. If a holder has an assigned FEIN/TIN, it must be provided, do not use 33-
3333333. 

As a reminder, FEIN/TIN is a mandatory data field for Nevada. Using a fictitious number equates to filing an 
inaccurate report, which may subject a holder to penalties.  

 

Remitting payment – NRS 120A.560 (14)&(15), NRS 120A.570(1) 

Payment is required to be remitted via ACH debit. Holders must contact their financial institutions to 
authorize ACH debit PRIOR to sending payments through the Portal by providing them with Nevada’s 
company code (D886000022) otherwise the payment will reject. Be aware that a rejected payment cannot 
be resubmitted until the initial error has been corrected. Rejected payments may be subject to penalties and 
interest if the resubmitted payment is received after the reporting due date, pursuant to NRS 120A.730.  See 
“Fees” in this Manual for further information. 
 
For holders remitting securities or safekeeping contents, please refer to the specific directions in this manual 
found on pages 17 through 20. 
 

Reimbursements and adjustments – NRS 120A.640(4) 
If an owner comes forward to claim property on a report that has been prepared for remittance 
but not yet submitted to the Division, the holder must do one of the following: 

 Revise the report by deleting the property and adjusting the amount and remittance; or 

 Submit the report, as is, and follow the instructions for completing a Request for Holder Reimbursement 
Form UP-4.  

If an owner comes forward to claim property on a report that has been submitted, prior to processing the 
owner payment, please contact the Division to determine whether a claim has been filed and/or paid on the 
property in question. 

If a holder comes forward for reimbursement due to duplicate payment or overpayment, a Request for 
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Holder Refund (UP-5) must be completed and submitted electronically to NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov 
or mailed to the address on the form.  

 

Negative reports – NAC 120A.035 

Business entities and sole proprietors who are incorporated or licensed to conduct business in Nevada, or 
otherwise are located or doing business in Nevada must submit a “negative” report to the Division when no 
unclaimed property is found to be reportable. Individuals who require a license to perform a job (e.g., realtor, 
cosmetologist, nurse, teacher, electrician, etc.) are not required to file an annual negative report unless they are 
a business owner. 
 

Reporting and remittance of special property types 

Delivery and registration of securities and mutual funds – NRS 120A.570(2)-(4) 
 

Please note, securities representing underlying shares, stock splits, bonds, etc., must be registered in our nominee 
name: Nevada Unclaimed Property. 

Securities found in safe-deposit boxes must be inventoried and remitted to the Division as is. Do not deposit funds and 
remit via check or EFT. Instructions for remitting safe-deposit box contents are located on pages 19-20. 

DTC transfers 

Holders participating in DTC (Depository Trust Company) MUST transfer re-registered securities directly to: 

Nominee Name: Nevada Unclaimed Property 
FEIN: 88-6000022 
DTC Participant #: 901** 
Agent Bank #: 26500** 
Account #: 822494** 

 
Book entry shares/ Direct Registration Shares (DRS)/Dividend Reinvestments Shares: 

 
Nominee Name: Nevada Unclaimed Property 
FEIN: 88-6000022 
c/o Avenue Insights & Analytics 
100 Hancock St FL 10 
Quincy MA 02171 

 
Fed Delivery: 
Federal Reserve Bank of New York 
ABA# 0210-0001-8 
Bk of NYC Trust 
FBO—State of Nevada Acct #822494 

 
Dividend Reinvestment Plan 
Dividend Reinvestment Plan shares must be registered to Nevada Unclaimed Property, FEIN # 88-6000022 on the 
day of or before the report and remittance are submitted to the Division. Each reported shareowner’s records must 
include the owner name, last transaction date, number of shares, and cash amount remitted, if applicable. 
Corporations may utilize a book entry form of share registration in lieu of issuing physical securities (stock certificates). 
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Dividends earned should be issued as cash. 

All holders must list Dividend Reinvestment Plan accounts with Property ID Code: SC19. 
 

The Division will only accept whole shares for each individual when the physical certificates are issued. Fractional 
shares must be liquidated at fair market value when reported. 

 
 

Fractional shares must be sold for each individual when physical certificates are issued and must be reported with 
Property ID Code: SC09. 

 
Delivery of open-end mutual funds 

State Custodian, Avenu Insights & Analytics, will provide an account number for all transfers. Do not establish a new 
account number without first contacting the custodian. At least three business days prior to attempting delivery, please 
send an email to the custodian at upch.custody@avenuinsights.com to obtain an account. The registration reference 
account number (822494**) must accompany the email request to identify it as a State of Nevada fund. Allow 
approximately one week for receipt of an account number. 

Account Re-registration: 
 

MAC & Co 822494 
Mutual Fund Operations 
500 Grant ST 
Room 151-1010 
Pittsburgh, PA 15258 

Send interested party statements for Open–End Mutual Fund accounts to: 

Avenu Insights & Analytics 
Custody Department 
100 Hancock Street, 10th Floor 
Quincy, MA 12171 

 
Dividend Selection—Pay in Cash 

 
Delivery of closed-end mutual funds 

Deliver via DTC. Contact state custodian, Avenu Insights & Analytics, 48 hours prior to delivery at 
upch.custody@avenuinsights.com. Provide security name, CUSIP, shares, state, and your DTC #. 

Deliver to: 
 

DTC #901 
Account 822494 
State of Nevada 

Dividend Selection—Pay in Cash 
 

Physical certificates 

If a holder is unable to deliver through DTC, DRS or DWAC, register and deliver physical certificates via the 
following: 
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Hare & Co/Account # 822494 
FEIN 13-6062916 
The Depository Trust Company 
570 Washington Blvd FL 5 
Jersey City, NJ 07310 

 

ATTN: BNY Mellon/Branch Deposit Department/Account #822494—State of Nevada 
Two days prior to actual delivery, the Division will require an excel list of the securities, including CUSIP numbers, 
number of shares, issue names, certificate numbers, and the delivering party’s information. Email the excel list to: 
upch.custody@avenuinsights.com. 
 
Please note, physical certificates will be returned if DTC, DWAC, or DRS eligible. If physical certificates are returned, 
penalties will be assessed if not corrected. 

Worthless or non-transferable securities 

The Division will accept all securities. If a security cannot be delivered to the Division’s brokerage account (Avenu 
Insights & Analytics), the reporting company must provide a statement showing the security in Nevada’s name and tax 
ID number. Statements should be mailed when the initial report is submitted and then quarterly, unless there is activity 
in the account. If a holder chooses not to report worthless securities, DO NOT transfer the stock into Nevada’s name 
and Tax ID number. ALL securities transferred into Nevada’s name and Tax ID number must be reported. 

Foreign securities 

For foreign securities, contact Timothy Woodward at Avenu Insights & Analytics: 
Timothy.Woodward@avenuinsights.com. 

 
 
Safe-deposit boxes – NRS 120A.510, NRS 120A.125, NRS 120A.570(1) 

The provisions of NRS 120A only apply to tangible property held in a safe-deposit box or other safekeeping 
depository which is maintained by: 

 A bank or other financial organization, as defined at NRS 120A.070; or 
 A safe-deposit box company 
 
Please note, safekeeping items must be filed in a report separate from intangible items. Any cash found in the safe-deposit 
box should be clearly detailed on the inventory sheet and on the electronic report using the safekeeping code CURR 
(Currency.) Foreign bills should be reported under the code FCUR (Foreign Currency) and foreign coins under the code COIN 
(Various Coins.) 
  
Safekeeping contents should be placed in a 9 X 12 inch or larger envelope or plastic bag. The owner names and box numbers 
or other identifying numbers must be clearly marked on the outside of the envelope. Holders should attach a Safekeeping 
Inventory Form UP-6 to each envelope/plastic bag. Place the envelopes in alphabetical order by owner last name or business 
name. 

Please do not remit safekeeping for other states to the Division; it will be returned unprocessed.  The rules of taking 
custody for tangible items is determined by federal law and determined to be reportable to the state where the box is 
located. 
 
Please do not report empty boxes. Instead, boxes should be drilled prior to preparing reports to avoid unnecessary 
labor. 

If any of the safekeeping boxes contain firearms (except for antiques), controlled substances, or contents that could 
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be deemed illegal, holders should follow their internal policy regarding contraband. Holders should include a written 
explanation regarding how the safekeeping in question was handled with the remittance.  These items are not 
accepted into the Division’s inventory. 

Safekeeping inventory must be delivered within 60 days of the report’s submission. Contact the Division at 702- 
486-4140 or UnclaimedProperty@NevadaTreasurer.gov to let the Division know the anticipated delivery date. 

Cash and/or securities found in safekeeping boxes must be inventoried and remitted to the Division as is. Do not 
deposit funds and remit via check or EFT. The responsibility of holders is to report the box contents, not to alter them. 

 

Special Reports 
 

Court ordered unclaimed property 

Please verify that a court order specifies the funds are to be directed to the Office of the State Treasurer – 
Unclaimed Property Division. Holders reporting court ordered funds must ensure the funds are to be remitted 
to the Unclaimed Property Division and not a county treasurer or the State Controller’s Office. 

Please contact the Division for instructions for reporting court ordered unclaimed property funds. Court 
ordered reports cannot be filed online. A copy of the court order must be emailed to 
NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov for review, prior to attempting to file a report. Once the court order has 
been reviewed and approved, report forms, remittance information, and instructions will be provided. 

Funds held in an IOLTA pertaining to abandoned property can no longer be reported to Unclaimed Property.  
See Nevada Supreme Court Rule 1.15 for details on handling these properties. 
 
Settlement funds 

Please contact the Division for instructions for reporting settlement funds at NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov. 
Settlement reports cannot be filed online. A copy of the settlement agreement must be emailed prior to 
attempting to file a report. Upon review of the agreement, report forms, remittance information, and instructions 
will be provided. 
 
Reciprocal Reporting 

Nevada does not have active reciprocal agreements with any state; therefore, the following information 
should be adhered to 
 

In accordance with the United States Supreme Court decisions in Texas vs. New Jersey, Pennsylvania vs. New 
York, Delaware vs. New York, and the 1993 NAUPA resolution, property should be reported in accordance with 
the “Rules for Taking Custody” (NRS 120A.530). Under certain circumstances, permission will be granted to 
report property from other states; however, a state must receive written approval from the Division. 

If a state is granted permission to report abandoned property to Nevada, the property must be submitted in 
NAUPA format and meet Nevada’s statutory requirements. The Division reserves the right to refuse a report and 
to request a corrected report if received out of compliance. 
 
Submitting reciprocal reports 
 
Do not upload reciprocal reports through the Portal. States that do not have a secure website for report retrieval 
should send encrypted/password protected files to:  NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov or send 
encrypted/password protected reports on a CD ROM or USB flash drive to the Division’s mailing address: 
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State of Nevada 
Office of the State Treasurer 
Unclaimed Property Division 
555 E Washington Ave., #5200 
Las Vegas, NV 89101 

 
 

Records retention – NRS 120A.700 

Holders are required to retain abandoned property records for a period of seven (7) years after filing a report. 
 

Business and financial organizations that provide checks, money orders, or similar instruments other than third-party 
bank checks, in which the organization is directly liable, must maintain records while instruments remain outstanding for 
three (3) years after the holder has filed a report. 
 
Holders are required to retain records of not only those properties reported, but also those they wish to rely upon for 
proof of why property was excluded from a report. 
 
Compliance Efforts 

 
Penalties and interest – NRS 120A.730 

The Nevada Unclaimed Property Division’s mission is to serve Nevada. This mission includes reuniting owners with 
their property. Penalties and interest are assessed to aid in the timely reporting of property, submission of 
reports and associated payment (including stocks and royalties), which ultimately helps the Division achieve that 
goal. Penalties and/or interest may be waived through various methods. Waiver forms are provided through the 
notification of assessments and on the Forms page of the Division’s website.  Additionally, see the Voluntary 
Disclosure Agreement section below. 

 
Fees – NRS 120A.730 

Pursuant to NRS 120A.730, holders are required to submit reports and remit payments through the Portal. 
Remittances are required to be submitted by ACH debit. Any variation from this requirement requires pre-
approval. Pre-approval must be requested through the ACH Debit Payment Exception Form UP-10.  Absent a 
pre-approval, a holder will be charged a fee in an amount equal to the greater of $50 or 2% of the amount of 
the payment.  Each Exception request is only valid for a single remittance.   Future remittances that are not made 
by the required payment method are required to receive a new pre-approval.  Reliance on a prior exception 
approval will not alleviate fees from being assessed.  There are no means to waive this fee without pre-
approval having been obtained. 

Audits – NRS 120A.690 

The Division’s audit staff, and contracted third-party audit firms, conduct examinations of records to 
ensure holders comply with the state’s unclaimed property requirements (NRS 120A.690). 

Late reporting, non-reporting, consumer complaints, no last activity dates, and improper aging, are just a 
few examples that can trigger an audit. 

 Audits may be conducted at reasonable times and upon a good faith effort to provide reasonable 
notice to the holder and the transfer agent.  If you are notified that you have been selected for an 
audit but have not received a notice, please contact UPAudit@NevadaTreasurer.gov for an electronic 
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copy of the notice sent.  You may also contact UPAudit@NevadaTreasurer.gov to confirm the validity 
of a letter received, to request guidance as to how to proceed with the audit, or for other audit 
related questions. 

 Holder records can be requested electronically, eliminating the need for onsite examinations. 

Self-Audits 
If the holder has received an initiation letter for a self-audit, please follow the instructions on the letter.  
If further guidance is needed, if you’d like to confirm the validity of the letter received, or the initiation 
letter has been misplaced, please contact UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov. 
  
Please DO NOT attempt to enroll in the VDA or another waiver program.  Once an initiation letter is sent, other 
means of obtaining a waiver for past-due properties are not permitted. 
 
Voluntary Disclosure Agreement (VDA) – NRS 120A.730 & NAC 120A.120(3) 

The Voluntary Disclosure Agreement program was established to educate holders of reporting requirements of 
NRS 120A and to assist holders to attaining and maintaining compliance. 

Holders interested in participating in the VDA program must apply for and receive approval from the Division. 
 
The VDA program requires holders to review their records in the same manner they would be reviewing them 
for annual reporting, and to report and remit all past due properties. The VDA program may also require a 
holder to allow for a review of their policies and procedures to provide the holder with the tools needed to 
ensure compliance in future reporting periods. If a holder is interested in what kind of information the Division 
looks for in policies and procedures, or for general information on the VDA program, please contact the 
Division’s audit staff at: UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov.  The Division cannot supply sample policies, as the 
nature of property for business entities can vary.  However, the Division is happy to discuss particular scenarios 
directly. 

The Division’s goal is to guide holders to compliance, offer relief from penalties on the current report and to 
safeguard holders so they are not assessed penalties and interest on future reports. Use the Division’s 
expertise to your advantage and apply today! Holders are encouraged to apply for the VDA program prior 
to the reporting deadline and prior to the submission of a report. 

Note: For holders who wish to participate in the VDA program that are not incorporated, located nor doing 
business in Nevada, please note that the Division expects the contents of a holder’s policies and procedures to 
specifically address Nevada requirements as if the holder was a Nevada-based entity..  
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REPORTING CHECKLIST 
 Report of unclaimed property is in NAUPA format.  Owner detail is complete and accurate. 

 
1. Valid property, relationship, and owner type codes are correctly posted in NAUPA file (see page 

26). 
 

2. All available owner information is included, e.g., names, social security numbers, addresses, etc. 

 Report and remittance balance. If submitted out of balance, report will not be accepted. 
 

 Report of unclaimed property and ACH debit payment was submitted through the Division’s online holder 
reporting portal. 

 

If applicable: 
 Instructions for remitting securities were properly followed (see pages 17-19). 
 Securities have been liquidated or transferred into the name of Nevada Unclaimed Property, FEIN 88- 

6000022, and transferred to the State’s custodial account. 
 

 Mutual funds were redeemed or transferred in the name of Nevada Unclaimed Property, 
FEIN 88-6000022, and transferred to the State’s custodial account. 

 
Contact Information: 
Nevada Unclaimed Property 
(702) 486-4140—phone 
(702) 486-4177—fax 

 
Website: http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/ 

Email: NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov 
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PROPERTY TYPE CODES & ABANDONMENT PERIODS 
 

ACCOUNTS BALANCES (3 YEARS) 
AC01 CHECKING ACCOUNTS 
AC02 SAVINGS ACCOUNTS 
AC03 MATURED CD OR SAVINGS CERTIFICATE 
AC04 CHRISTMAS CLUB ACCOUNTS 
AC05 MONEY ON DEPOSIT-SECURE FUNDS 
AC06 SECURITY DEPOSITS 
AC07 UNIDENTIFIED DEPOSITS 
AC08 SUSPENSE ACCOUNTS 
AC99 AGGREGATE ACCOUNT BALANCE UNDER $50 

CHECKS (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS NOTED) 
CK01 CASHIER’S CHECKS 
CK02 CERTIFIED CHECKS 
CK03 REGISTERED CHECKS 
CK04 TREASURER’S CHECKS 
CK05 DRAFTS 
CK06 WARRANTS 
CK07 MONEY ORDERS (7 YEARS) 
CK08 TRAVELER’S CHECKS (15 YEARS) 
CK09 FOREIGN EXCHANGE CHECKS 
CK10 EXPENSE CHECKS 
CK11 PENSION CHECKS 
CK12 CREDIT CHECKS OR MEMOS 
CK13 VENDOR CHECKS 
CK14 CHECK WRITTEN OFF—INCOME/SURPLUS 
CK15 OUTSTANDING—CHECKS/EXCHANGE ITEMS 
CK16 CD INTEREST CHECKS 
CK99 AGGREGATE UNCASED CHECKS UNDER $50 

CMBN COMBINED MULTI PROPS ON IMPORT 

EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNTS (3 YEARS) 
CS-01 CASH 
CS-02 MUTUAL FUNDS 
CS-03 SECURITIES 

 
COURT DEPOSITS (1 YEAR) 
CT01 ESCROW FUNDS 
CT02 CONDEMNATION AWARDS 
CT03 MISSING HEIRS’ FUNDS 
CT04 SUSPENSE ACCOUNTS 
CT05 DEPOSITS WITH COURT/PUB AUTH 
CT06 PUBLIC AID CHILD SUPPORT CHECKS 
CT99 AGGREGATE COURT DEPOSITS 

 
HEALTH SAVINGS PLANS (3 YEARS) 
HS01 HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNT 
HS02 HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNT INVESTMENT 

INSURANCE (3 YEARS) 
IN01 INDIVIDUAL POLICY BENEFITS OR CLAIM PAYMENTS 
IN02 GROUP POLICY BENEFITS OR CLAIM PAYMENTS 
IN03 DEATH BENEFITS—BENEFICIARIES 
IN04 PROCEEDS—POLICY, ENDOWMENTS, ANNUITIES 
IN05 PREMIUM REFUNDS 
IN06 UNIDENTIFIED REMITTANCES 
IN07 OTHER AMOUNTS DUE UNDER POLICY 
IN08 AGENT CREDIT BALANCES 
IN99 AGGREGATE INSURANCE PROPERTY UNDER $50 

 
TRADITIONAL IRA (3 YEARS) 
IR01 CASH 
IR02 MUTUAL FUNDS 
IR03 SECURITIES 

 
ROTH IRA (3 YEARS) 
IR05 CASH 
IR06 MUTUAL FUNDS 
IR07 SECURITIES 

 
 

ALL government entities (Courts, Governments, a Governmental 
Subdivision, Agency, or Instrumentality) regardless of the property type, are 
legally required to report abandoned property annually.  Property is due 1 year 
from the last activity date. 

 
ALL holders are legally required to report all property types marked “(1 
YEAR)” annually. All other property types are legally required to report as stated 
above. 

 
All utility companies are legally required to report utility deposits, 
refunds/ rebates annually. 

PROCEEDS FROM MINERAL INTERESTS (3 YEARS) 
MI01 NET REVENUE INTEREST 
MI02 ROYALTIES 
MI03 OVERRIDING ROYALTIES 
MI04 PRODUCTION PAYMENTS 
MI05 WORKING INTERESTS 
MI06 BONUSES 
MI07 DELAY RENTALS 
MI08 SHUT IN ROYALTIES 
MI09 MINIMUM ROYALTIES 
MI99 AGGREGATE MINERAL PROCEEDS 

 
 

MISC PROPERTY (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS NOTED) 
MS01 WAGES, PAYROLL, SALARY (1 YEAR) 
MS02 COMMISSIONS (1 YEAR) 
MS03 WORKER’S COMPENSATION 
MS04 PAYMENTS FOR GOODS, SERVICES 
MS05 CUSTOMER OVERPAYMENTS 
MS06   UNIDENTIFIED REMITTANCES 
MS07     UN-REFUNDED OVERCHARGES 
MS08      ACCOUNTS PAYABLE 
MS09 CREDIT BALANCES—ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE 
MS10 DISCOUNTS DUE 
MS11 REFUNDS DUE 
MS13 UNCLAIMED LOAN COLLATERAL 
MS14 SUMS PAYABLE UNDER PENSION AND PROFIT-SHARING PLANS 

(IRA, KEOUGH0, 401K, ETC) 
MS15 PROPERTY DISTRIBUTABLE IN THE COURSE OF 

DISSOLUTION OR LIQUIDATION (1 YEAR) 
MS16 MISCELLANEOUS OUTSTANDING CHECKS 
MS17 MISCELLANEOUS INTANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY 
MS18 SUSPENSE LIABILITIES 
MS99 AGGREGATE—MISCELLANEOUS PROPERTY UNDER $50 

 
MISC PROPERTY PRESUMED ABANDONED ON EXPIRATION DATE 
MS12 UNREDEEMED GIFT CERTIFICATES (see page 10 for additional information) 

 
SECURITIES (3 YEARS) 
SC01 DIVIDENDS 
SC02 INTEREST PAYABLE ON REGS BONDS 
SC03 NOT USED 
SC04 EQUITY PAYMENTS 
SC05 PROFITS 
SC06 FUNDS PD—SHARES OR INTEREST 
SC07 BEARER BOND INTEREST/MATURED PRINCIPLE 
SC08 SHARES OF STOCK 
SC09 CASH FOR FRACTIONAL SHARES 
SC10 UN-EXCHANGED STOCK SUCCESSOR CORP 
SC11 OTHER CERTIFICATES OF OWNERSHIP 
SC12 UNDERLYING SHARES OR OTHER OUTSTANDING CERTIFICATES 
SC13 FUNDS FOR LIQUIDATION/REDEMPTION OF UN-SURRENDERED STOCK OR BONDS 
SC14 DEBENTURES 
SC15 US GOV'T SECURITIES 
SC16 MUTUAL FUNDS 
SC17 WARRANTS 
SC18 MATURED PRINCIPAL REGS BONDS 
SC19 DIVIDEND REINVESTMENT PLANS 
SC20 CREDIT BALANCES 
SC99 AGGREGATE SECURITY PROPERTY UNDER $50 

 
SAFE-DEPOSIT BOXES AND SAFEKEEPING (3 YEARS) 
SD01 CONTENTS FROM SAFE-DEPOSIT BOXES 
SD02 CONTENTS OTHER SAFEKEEPING 

 
TRUST, INVESTMENT & ESCROW ACCOUNTS (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS 
NOTED) 
TR01 PAYING AGENT ACCOUNTS 
TR02 UNDELIVERED OR UNCASHED DIVIDENDS 
TR03 FUNDS HELD IN A FIDUCIARY CAPACITY (FOR GOV’T) 
TR04 ESCROW ACCOUNTS 
TR05 TRUST VOUCHERS 
TR99 AGGREGATE TRUST PROPERTY UNDER $50 

 
UTILITIES (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS NOTED) 
UT01 UTILITY DEPOSITS (1 YEAR) 
UT02 MEMBERSHIP FEES 
UT03 REFUNDS OR REBATES (1 YEAR) 
UT04 CAPITAL CREDIT DISTRIBUTIONS 
UT99 AGGREGATE UTILITY PROPERTIES UNDER $50 
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NEVADA OWNERSHIP CODES 
 

Code Description 
OT All Owners except Aggregate or Unknown – This code represents 

individual property records that are not reported as aggregate or 
unknown and is used when an owner’s name is known and included 
in the report. 

UN Unknown Owner (no name available) – This code represents 
individual property records in which the original owner’s name is 
unknown. 

 

 
NEVADA DEDUCTION AND WITHOLDING CODES 

 

Code Description 
SW Service Charge – This code is for authorized use for Nevada 

properties during the dormancy period. Fees cannot be withheld until 
after a property is presumed abandoned and cannot exceed 
$5 per month until remitted to the State. 

TW Income Tax Withheld- For Individual Retirement Accounts Only. See 
page 14 for more details. 

ZZ Deduction Code Not Identified Above 
 
NOTE: Use of this deduction code requires prior written 
approval from the Nevada Unclaimed Property Office. Failure to 
do so will result in a report rejecting. 



Nevada Holder Reporting Manual 2022 

Page 28 

 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 

NEVADA RELATIONSHIP CODES & DEFINITIONS 
 

Code Description Definition 
AD Administrator A person appointed by the court to handle the estate of someone who died without a 

will, with a will with no nominated executor, or the executor named in the will has died, 
has been removed from the case, or does not desire to serve. 

AF Attorney For A person who has been qualified by a state or federal court to provide legal services, 
including appearing in a court and is authorized to act for another. 

AG Agent For A person who is authorized to act for another (the agent’s principal) through 
employment, by contract or apparent authority. 

AN (AND) Unspecified 
Joint Relationship 

Unspecified joint relationship including ‘AND’. 

BF Beneficiary Any person or entity (like a charity) who is to receive assets or profits from an estate, a 
trust, an insurance policy, or any instrument in which there is a distribution. 

CP Community 
Property 

Property or earnings received by a husband and wife during marriage, other than by 
gift, devise, or descent. Separate property is property owned by a spouse before 
marriage or received during the marriage by gift, devise or descent. In some 
jurisdictions, earnings from separate property are also separate property and, in some 
jurisdictions, such earnings are community property. Recognized by California, Arizona, 
New Mexico, Texas, Nevada, Idaho, Washington, Wisconsin, Louisiana and Puerto Rico. 

CF Custodian An individual entrusted with guarding and keeping property or having custody of a 
person; a person named to manage a child’s property under the UFGTMA; a person or 
entity appointed by a bankruptcy court to take charge of the debtor’s property for 
purposes of administration. 

CN Conservator A person, official or institution appointed by a court to take over and manage the estate 
and financial affairs and/or a person’s daily life due to physical or mental limitations or 
old age; a public official charged with the protection of something affecting public 
welfare and interests. 

DF Defendant The party sued in a civil lawsuit or the party charged with a crime in a criminal 
prosecution. 

ES Estate All the possessions of one who has died and are subject to probate (administration 
supervised by the court) and distribution to heirs and beneficiaries, all the possessions 
which a guardian manages for a ward (young person requiring protection and 
administration of affairs), or assets a conservator manages for a conservatee (a person 
whose physical or mental lack of competence requires administration of his/her affairs). 

EX Executor / 
Executrix 

The person appointed to administer the estate of person who has died leaving a will that 
nominates that person. 

FB For Benefit Of A person who is entitled to property that is held by another person (typically a custodian 
or trustee). FB is typically used in trustee, self-directed, inherited, education and 
transferred accounts. 

GR Guardian A person who has been appointed by a judge to take care of a minor child (called a 
"ward") or incompetent adult personally and/or manage that person's affairs 

HE Heir Anyone who receives property of a deceased person either by will or under the laws of 
descent and distribution. (Explanation: a devisee under a will is also an "heir", even 
though unrelated to the decedent.) 
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Code Description Definition 

IN Insured The person or entity who will be compensated for loss by an insurer under the terms of a 
contract called an insurance policy; the person whose life is insured by life insurance, 
after whose death, the benefits go to others. 

JE Tenants in 
Entireties 

Joint ownership of property or securities by a husband and wife where, upon the death 
of one, the property goes to the survivor. 

JT Joint Tenants An account held in joint tenancy presumes a right of survivorship, but this presumption can 
be overcome by evidence that the account was really the property of only one, and the 
joint tenancy was for convenience. Right of Survivorship is not specifically stated. 

JS Joint Tenants with 
Rights of 

Survivorships 

A type of account owned by at least two people where all tenants have an equal right 
to the account’s assets and are afforded survivorship rights in the event of the death of 
another account holder. In this type of account, a surviving member will inherit the total 
value of the other member’s share of account assets upon the death of the other member. 
All members of the account are afforded the power to conduct investment transactions 
within the account as well. 

OR (OR) Unspecified 
Joint Relationship 

Unspecified joint relationship including 'OR'. 

OT Other Relationship Relationship other than specified in this list. Additional details should be submitted with 
the property/ 

PA Payee The one named on a check or promissory note to receive payment. Each individual 
named as ‘payee’ shall be paid an equal share of the property. 

PD Payable on Death Account is payable on Death to an alternate owner. Upon the original owner's death, the 
beneficiary must supply identification and a copy of the original owner's death 
certificate. 

PO Power of Attorney A written document signed by a person giving another person the power to act for the 
signer in designated circumstances and with respect to designated property. General 
powers of attorney give the authorized party broad discretion; Special powers of 
attorney are limited in capacity. 

RE Remitter Used primarily on official checks. The remitter is the person who purchased the official 
check. This relationship is separate from the holder who turns the property over to the 
state. 

SO Sole Owner Sole Owner is used when there is only a single owner for the property, and that person 
has all rights to the ownership of the property. 

TC Tenants in Common A type of account which is owned by at least two people with no rights of survivorship 
afforded to any of the account holders. In this type of account, a surviving tenant of the 
account does not necessarily acquire the rights (and account assets) of the deceased 
person. Rather, each tenant in the account can stipulate in a written will how his/her 
assets will be distributed upon his/her death. Generally, the member ownership in the 
account is determined on a pro rata basis, meaning that if there are two tenants in the 
account, each will have a 50% claim on the account's value. 

TE Trustee A person or entity who holds the assets (corpus) of a trustee for the benefit of the 
beneficiaries and manages the trust and its assets under the terms of the trust stated in 
the Declaration of Trust which created it. 
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Code Description Definition 

   

UF Usufruct Usufruct is a real right in a property owned by another, normally for a limited time or 
until death. Simply stated, it is the right to use the property, to enjoy the fruits and 
income of the property, to rent the property out and to collect the rents, all to the 
exclusion of the underlying real or naked owner. The usufructuary has the full right to use 
the property but cannot dispose of the property nor can it be destroyed. 

UG Uniform Gift to 
Minors Act 

Property was gifted to a minor according to the Uniform Gifts to Minor’s Act (Uniform 
Transfers to Minor’s Act in some states). Regardless of whether the minor has reached 
the age of majority; they should be coded with the UG relation. The custodian on the 
account should be coded as CU. 

UN Unknown Owner’s relationship to the property is not known. 

UT Uniform Transfer 
to Minor 

Property that is gifted to a minor under the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act – (UGMA). This 
act allows minors to own property such as securities. Under the UGMA, the ownership of 
the funds works like it does with any other trust except that the donor must appoint a 
custodian (the trustee) to look after the account. Regardless of whether the minor has 
reached the age of majority, they should be coded with the UG relation. The custodian 
on the account should be coded as CU. 
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NEVADA SAFEKEEPING TYPES CODES 
 

Code Description 
AMMO Ammunition 

BARG Gold Bars 

BARS Silver Bars 

BOND Savings Bonds 

CARD Sports Trading Cards 

CJWL Costume Jewelry 

COIN Various Coins 

CURR Currency 

DEPO Cash Deposit 

EYES Eyeglasses 

FCUR Foreign Currency 

JEWL Fine Jewelry 

KRUG Krugerrands 

MISC Miscellaneous Items 

PAPR Various Paperwork 

STCK Stock Certificates 

STMP Stamps / Postage 

TEET False Teeth 

TOKE Tokens 

TOOL Tools 

WATC Watch 

WEAP Weapons 

WILL Wills / Codicils to Wills 
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY REPORT/REMIT YEAR TABLES 
BUSINESS ENTITIES ONLY (NON-INSURANCE ENTITIES) 

 
ONE (1) YEAR PROPERTIES 

Items that were issued or had a last activity 
date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

07/01/2019 thru 06/30/2020 November 1, 2021 

07/01/2020 thru 06/30/2021 November 1, 2022 

07/01/2021 thru 06/30/2022 November 1, 2023 

07/01/2022 thru 06/30/2023 November 1, 2024 

07/01/2023 thru 06/30/2024 November 1, 2025 

07/01/2024 thru 06/30/2025 November 1, 2026 

07/01/2025 thru 06/30/2026 November 1, 2027 

07/01/2026 thru 06/30/2027 November 1, 2028 

 
THREE (3) YEAR PROPERTIES 

Items that were issued or had a last activity 
date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

07/01/2017 thru 06/30/2018 November 1, 2021 

07/01/2018 thru 06/30/2019 November 1, 2022 

07/01/2019 thru 06/30/2020 November 1, 2023 

07/01/2020 thru 06/30/2021 November 1, 2024 

07/01/2021 thru 06/30/2022 November 1, 2025 

07/01/2022 thru 06/30/2023 November 1, 2026 

07/01/2023 thru 06/30/2024 November 1, 2027 

07/01/2024 thru 06/30/2025 November 1, 2028 

 
Note 1: Reports and remittances that are received after the prescribed due date are subject to penalties and/or 
interest under the provisions of NRS 120A.730.  
 
Note 2:  The holder is responsible for reporting all properties deemed abandoned up to the end of the last activity date 
period noted next to the report and payment submission deadline.  The holder’s failure to report and pay for properties 
past due will result in increased penalties and/or interest, as the period of noncompliance has not ended. 
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY REPORT/REMIT YEAR TABLES 
INSURANCE ENTITIES ONLY 

 
ONE (1) YEAR PROPERTIES 

Items that were issued or had a last activity 
date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

01/01/2019 thru 12/31/2019 May 1, 2021 

01/01/2020 thru 12/31/2020 May 1, 2022 

01/01/2021 thru 12/31/2021 May 1, 2023 

01/01/2022 thru 12/31/2022 May 1, 2024 

01/01/2023 thru 12/31/2023 May 1, 2025 

01/01/2024 thru 12/31/2024 May 1, 2026 

01/01/2025 thru 12/31/2025 May 1, 2027 

01/01/2026 thru 12/31/2026 May 1, 2028 

 
THREE (3) YEAR PROPERTIES 

Items that were issued or had a last activity 
date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

01/01/2017 thru 12/31/2017 May 1, 2021 

01/01/2018 thru 12/31/2018 May 1, 2022 

01/01/2019 thru 12/31/2019 May 1, 2023 

01/01/2020 thru 12/31/2020 May 1, 2024 

01/01/2021 thru 12/31/2021 May 1, 2025 

01/01/2022 thru 12/31/2022 May 1, 2026 

01/01/2023 thru 12/31/2023 May 1, 2027 

01/01/2024 thru 12/31/2024 May 1, 2028 

 

Note 1: Reports and remittances that are received after the prescribed due date are subject to penalties and/or 
interest under the provisions of NRS 120A.730. 

 
Note 2:  The holder is responsible for reporting all properties deemed abandoned up to the end of the last activity date 
period noted next to the report and payment submission deadline.  The holder’s failure to report and pay for properties 
past due will result in increased penalties and/or interest, as the period of noncompliance has not ended. 



Nevada Holder Reporting Manual 2022 

Page 34 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

APPENDIX B – SAMPLES 



Nevada Holder Reporting Manual 2022 

Page 35 

 

 

 
 

SAMPLE DUE DILIGENCE LETTER 

 
Acme Funds Corporation 

123 Abandoned Lane 
Anywhere USA 12345 

 
 
 

Date 
 
 

Owner Name 
456 Asset Road 
Jackpot USA 67890 

 
Re: Account # 

Balance $ 
Property Type: 

 
Dear Owner: 

 
We are holding unclaimed property with a value of at least $50 for the person listed above. The 
owner may claim this property by contacting us at the address, phone number or email address 
listed below. 

 
Holder Information: Company Name 

Address: 
Phone #: 
Email Address: 

 
Failure to respond by (insert the last day property will be available for refund), will result in property 
being remitted to Nevada Unclaimed Property by October 31st (April 30th for all insurance 
entities). After that date, the owner may contact the state where the property will be held in 
perpetuity and can be rightfully claimed. 

 
Sincerely, 

 
Company’s Contact Person’s Name 


