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Payment by ACH debit is mandatory. A holder who fails to make a payment as
required by subsections 11 and 12 of NRS 120A.560 must be assessed by the
administrator, a fee for such payment in an equal amount to the greater of $50
or 2 percent of the amount of the payment.

NRS 120A.560 includes provisions regarding holders utilizing third party
reporters to submit reports to the administrator. Doing so does not alleviate
the responsibility of the holder for submitting complete, timely and accurate
reporting of property presumed abandoned, for paying or delivering the
property described in the report and for any penalties, interest and fees due,
pursuant to NRS 120A.730.



2
Helpful
Tips

The Online Holder Reporting Module is not interactive. It does not inform holders that your
report has been received in our office nor provide the status or proof of payment. If you upload
the report and payment through the portal, we may be able to provide you an answer in real-
time upon written request.

The portal provides a record of each report that has been filed under the user’s profile. If you
need proof of your filing history as of 2016, you need only log in and click on the Reports tab at
the top of the screen. However, once it has been uploaded, it cannot be deleted from your
profile; it is permanent. You can send an email explaining the reason the report needs to be
deleted and the report will be deleted on our end, or we will provide an explanation as to why it
will not be deleted. The reporting history in your holder profile will not contain property detail.
As such, if property detail is needed, a written request to NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov
must be submitted. Please note that, pursuant to NRS 120A.700, the holder must retain
records of properties reported for at least 7 years from the date reported. Additionally, the

records must be retained if the holder wishes to rely on them for exclusion from a report.

Duplicate Payments. This office receives numerous duplicate payments. If you are unsure
whether your payment has been received, please contact our office before resubmitting an
additional payment. It is time-consuming and costly to your business and the state to reconcile
these errors.
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1. Account Creation and Logging In

Ve

.

Online report filing is mandatory. If you are unable to file online, please complete the ACH Debit Exception

N

Form for consideration and email it to NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov.

J

to create your account.

If someone in your organization is registered as the “Primary”, you are required to be registered under
that individual’s login. DO NOT create a new registration for each individual! Doing so will prevent
your reports from being accessible to management in your organization.
kinstructions.

/Navigate to: Holder Reporting Portal. If you do not already have an online account, select “RegisterN

See section 2 for

J

e
ATTENTION FOREIGN ENTITIES: Contact

NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov to create a

login.

@nter the information in the boxes and\

select Register.

An automated email will be sent to
verify the account.

Tip: Check your “spam” or ‘junk” folders
if you don'’t see it right away. If you fail
to receive the email; contact

QVHoIder@NevadaTreasurer.gov /

, State of Nevada Office of the State Treasurer
§ Unclaimed Property Division

Register New Account

Jobtie  Contact type

state zp

There can only be one “valid” primary user. If you are the valid primary, you can edit information and add

secondary users as needed. The valid primary is the individual who registered first.

Tip: If the Primary User no longer holds that position, contact Unclaimed Property to suspend the account

or convert his/her profile to a secondary user.

/If you already have an \
account, select
“Log in” to continue.

and password then

select “Log in”.
o J

[ ———
Enter the email address Lﬂﬂ in

Account Log in

Email
Password

Remember me?

Login = Register New Account

Forget your password?



https://holder.nevadaunclaimedproperty.gov/
https://hal.nv.gov/form/Holder_Reporting_Forms/ACH_Debit_Payment_Exception_Request
https://hal.nv.gov/form/Holder_Reporting_Forms/ACH_Debit_Payment_Exception_Request
mailto:NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov
mailto:NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov
mailto:NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov
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2. Account Profile - Editing and Adding Users

N
To edit your account information, click on your account email address found in the upper right-hand

corner of each webpage. Edit as needed, then select “Save”.

b9 State of Nevada Office of the State Treasurer
X § Unclaimed Property Division

Edit your profile

2a. Adding Secondary Users

Add a secondary user by selecting “Your Users” then “Add a new user to your account”.
Or you can add a secondary user by selecting “View your users” then “Add a New
user’. Add the information in the “Register New Sub Account” window.

Register New Sub Account within your reporting entity

Your Users - Reporis«

Add new user to your account Email address*

First name* Last name*

First name Last name

Add New User »

An automated email will be sent to the new user’s email address in order to verify the account.
Tip: Check your “spam” or ‘junk” folders if you don’t see it right away.
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3. IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT PAYMENTS

PAYMENT BY ACH DEBIT IS MANDATORY. PLEASE
PERFORM THE ACTION BELOW PRIOR TO INITIATING
YOUR ACH DEBIT OR YOUR PAYMENT WILL REJECT.

Payment rejection will result in the imposition of penalty and/or
interest if resubmitted payment is late. You must contact your
financial institution if you receive notification of a rejected
payment.

The ACH debit block exceptions can take several days
to become active. Contact your bank at least one week
before the payment due date to request ACH debit
authorization for the State Treasurer's Office by
providing our ACH Company ID Number: D886000022.

4 )

The mandatory required method of payment is by ACH debit; however,
certain allowances may be made in extenuating circumstances. If unable to
pay by ACH debit, complete the form at

https://hal.nv.gov/form/Holder Reporting Forms/ACH Debit Payment Exception Request

- /

NOTE: Typically, business bank accounts have an ACH debit blocker that prevents ACH
debits to the account. Providing your bank with the Treasurer’'s Office ACH Company
ID Number will only allow debits from this specific ACH Company ID Number.


https://hal.nv.gov/form/Holder_Reporting_Forms/ACH_Debit_Payment_Exception_Request
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4. Creating NAUPA Files

All reports must be submitted in NAUPA format.

The State of Nevada’s Unclaimed Property Division does not endorse any
reporting software. The holder is required to ensure that the software
utilized to encrypt reports complies with Nevada’s Reporting Requirements.

HRS Pro is a commonly used software specifically designed to create NAUPA |l standard formatted reports.
This free software is limited to only one report with up to 200 properties. If reporting more than 200 properties
and/or multiple reports, the HRS Pro Enterprise Edition must be purchased. Enterprise Edition provides user
support and multi-user capability for an annual fee. There is no user support for the free edition. Both versions
are endorsed by the National Association of Unclaimed Property Administrators. For more information, go to
https://www.wagers.net/hrs/. If assistance for use of this software is desired, please request guidance in
writing to NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov.

Please refer to the Nevada Unclaimed Property Holder Manual for detailed
information on Nevada’s reporting requirements.
Nevada Holder Manual

Files with multiple NAUPA reports.

Note: Nevada requires a separate report to be submitted for each individual company
(FEIN/TIN) and does not allow for the consolidation of businesses with multiple
TINS/FEINs to be submitted in a single report unless there are extenuating
circumstances and the request has been approved. Individual reports must be
submitted for each business that has been assigned an individual FEIN/TIN. Holders
that believe they have a valid reason for submitting a consolidated report must email
NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov to request and prepare a Consolidated Reporting
Request form. Be advised that “ease of filing” and “convenience” are not acceptable
reasons. Report filing history with Nevada will be evaluated. Requests from holders
that have previously filed consolidated reports without prior written authorization from
this agency, including late filings and inconsistent reporting, voids all consolidation
requests. If approved, reports and ACH debit payments for consolidated reporting
must be sent through the online portal only.



https://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurernvgov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Features/2023.08.03%20-%20Holder%20Reporting%20Manual.pdf
https://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurernvgov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Features/2023.08.03%20-%20Holder%20Reporting%20Manual.pdf
mailto:NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov
https://www.wagers.net/hrs/
mailto:NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov
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5. Uploading NAUPA Files

/After setting up ACH debit with your financial
institution, creating or logging into your
account, and creating NAUPA file(s); you
are now ready to upload the file(s) to the
portal. Select “Reports” then “Create
Report”. Or select “Reports” then “View Your

kRepor‘ts” then “Create new report”.

Your Users ~ Reporis«

View Your Reports

Create Report

Create new report »

/Click the “Select File” button, browse to find the file, then, select “Upload”. A progress\
bar will then appear. If the file upload is successful, a Property List will replace the
progress bar. You can then either select “Submit Report to State” or “Continue to file
details” to review a summary of the file. Tip: Files may be deleted from the “Continue
to file details” screen. Once a report is successfully submitted; however, you cannot
delete it and must instead contact Nevada Unclaimed Property staff at
\NVHoIder@NevadaTreasurer.qov for resolution. /

Upload Naupa File

Select your Naupa file from your computer (.hde encrypted or plain
text naupa file) and upload it to begin

NOTE: You must be using a supported browser
(Internet Explorer 10+, Google Chrome, Safari, Mozilla Firefox)

Select File

File Name:
File 107 _hde

Size: Upload
25KkB



mailto:NVHolder@NevadaTreasurer.gov
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5a. File Errors

If you receive a message stating your file has errors, select “Download Errors” for
details. All errors must be corrected before the file can be uploaded. Review your
HRS Pro NAUPA file for descriptions of errors that have occurred.

Your file has errors and has been rejected. Please select the button
“Download Emors” to obtain a report of your errors. Once you have
corrected your report please resubmit.

Download Emors

If your file contains multiple reports, you can extract any report with errors and
continue to submit reports that are error free. You must correct the report containing
errors if you wish to submit all reports simultaneously or submit the amended report
separately after all errors have been corrected.

ﬁror Report Example: \

Summary

Your file has 2 total errors.

line #:8 The relationship code AO was found but is inactive for the following owner:
JANE SMITH

line #:7 The relationship code AO was found but is inactive for the following property:
Owner: JOHN BROWN

To assist you with correcting your file, a copy of the NAUPA file layout and accepted
codes can be obtained from the Holder Reporting Manual.

\_ %



https://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurernvgov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Features/2023.08.03%20-%20Holder%20Reporting%20Manual.pdf
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5b. Submitting Your File

Once you are ready to submit, select “Submit to State”, select your Holder Type from the drop
down, select “Save and proceed to report submission”.

Review the information displayed then select the “Verification and Affidavit” check box if you
agree.

Select either “No, this is NOT a consolidated report” or “Yes, this is a consolidated report”.

Note: Nevada requires a separate report be submitted for each individual company and does
not allow for the consolidation of multiple FEINs and related property into a single report. Any
exceptions to this rule are required to be approved in advance, in writing, by the Nevada
Unclaimed Property Division (see page 8 for further information).

Select “Submit Report to State” and a progress bar will appear. If the file upload was successful,
a “Successful” message will appear.

Successful!

Important: To obtain a history of your reporting, click on the View Your Reports tab. NOTE: If
you are a manager who needs to view staff filing history, you will be unable to do so if your staff
is not registered under your Primary login.

Tip: If your file contains stocks, a message will appear on the Verification and Affidavit screen.
Enter the date the stock was delivered to our custodian. If the stock has not yet been delivered,
please do so prior to submitting your report. Questions on stocks, mutual funds, securities; please
refer to the Nevada Holder Manual.

Stocks were found, please enter the date the stock was
deliveraed to our custodian. Email a copy of the transfer approval
received from our custodian. (eg: MM/DDMY YY)

Tip: If a file fails to upload, an error message will appear. When this happens, select “Download
Errors” in order to see the mistakes in the file chosen. The web application system either
accepts the entirefileif itis clean of error(s), or if there is an error, the entire file will be rejected.



https://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurernvgov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Features/2023.08.03%20-%20Holder%20Reporting%20Manual.pdf
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6. Payments

All payments must be ACH debit and made solely

through this online portal.

If you have not already done so, contact your bank now and request to allow ACH debit
authorization from the State Treasurer’s Office ACH Company ID Number: D886000022
Failure to do so will cause your payment to reject which may result in the imposition of penalties

and interest.

IMPORTANT: “Amount Remitted ” does not mean your payment has been sent through the portal and received in our
office when an amount is listed. Unless you have completed the instructions below, your payment has not been
received and you may be assessed penalties and interest for submitting a report out of compliance.

Report Details

‘ Summary ‘
# of properties # of shares Amount reported Amount remitted Amount advertised Additional amount Software/version
25 0.0000 $89.73 $89.73 $89.73 $0.00 UPCS 6.1.7

Select “Make Payment” to initiate your ACH
Debit payment and finish the report
submittal process.

ﬁ\e Total Amount Due will be populat%

with the payment due on the NAUPA file
submitted. The remaining boxes require
the following: Payor Name, Bank Routing
Number and Bank Account Number.
Select the Account Type from the drop
down. Confirm the release of funds to the
state by checking the box then select
“Submit Payment Information.”

\_ /

Make Payment

Make a Payment
Payment for submitted file File 103.hde

Total Amount Due

$ | 575

Payor Name

Bank Routing Number

Bank Account Number

Confirm Account Number

Account Type

Checking ~
Warning: Payment cannot be made from a foreign bank
[J Confirm release of funds to the state?
In order to make your payment via ACH Debit you must first authorize our Company ID with
your financial institution. Our Company ID is: D886000022. If you are unable to authorize our
ID prior to p! ing this ACH Debit i your pay WILL be rej
R
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7. How to locate the DLN (Document Locator Number)

The DLN is required to be provided within the payment where the payment is made by a method other
than ACH Debit. Note that these payments but be pre-approved through the use of an ACH Debit
Exception form to avoid a fee, as discussed on page 3.

To find the DLN, click the ‘Complete’ tab. The DLN appears highlighted in blue and begins with a ‘W’.

Your Reports “ Positive =~ Negative Search

Created File Uploaded Holder Name Status

5/28/2020 00b1d36b-9441-46d6-8672 NN

Report Details Document Locator/Reference #: W42076W

Summary

# of properties # of shares Amount reported Amount remitted Amount advertised Additional amount Software/version

49 0.0000 $1,878.71 $1878.71 $1878.71 $0.00 Microsoft Excel 2013

Holder Information

Holder name: RN

Tax ID: R

Incorporated Date: 05/11/2001

ACH Debit Payment


https://hal.nv.gov/form/Holder_Reporting_Forms/ACH_Debit_Payment_Exception_Request
https://hal.nv.gov/form/Holder_Reporting_Forms/ACH_Debit_Payment_Exception_Request
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8. Negative Reports

ﬁannual report of unclaimed property is required if a holder meets at least one the following requiremerh
e The business/individual does business in and/or has a location in Nevada.

e The business/individual has a Nevada business license. Report filer must be the business owner.

e Negative reports are no longer required for three consecutive years from out-of-state holders that
have a one-time-only filing.

If you can answer “yes” to any of the qualifications, you must file annually, even when there is no property,
in the form of a Negative Report.

Negative reports must be filed online. Nevada no longer accepts paper or negative reports on disc/USB.
Negative reports received by mail without prior written authorization will be discarded.

o /

[Select “Create new report” ]

/Enter the Reporting \

Year Start negative report

Tip: Use the state

fiscal year for the You can start a new negative report manually without uploading a
. Naupa file

period you are

reporting, not the Reporting Year Enter year between 1985 - 2025

calendar year. State
fiscal year goes
from June 1 — July

30. To determine
which reporting year - is registered with the Nevada Secretary of State;

. - has a Nevada business license;

to use, review the + has reported abandoned property to Nevada within the last
H0|del‘ Report|ng three }'EEFS.

Manual. The Report

Megative Reporting is required if a business:

_ _ If a business does not meet at least one of these requirements, do
Year is the year in not file; the report will be rejected without further notice.
which the property is

Kdue. / Create Negative Report




-

Enter the
Tax ID,
Select
“Search”

The
Matching
Holder will
be
displayed.

~

Select
“Continue
with selected
Holder”

- /

~

Review the
information
displayed

Select
Verification
and Affidavit

Select
“Submit
Report to
State”
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/Find Holder by Tax ID

\

Matching Holders

TaxID

552220051

Extension / Branch

- J

\_

Name: Chucks Boxes LTD Tax ID: 55-2222251 Ext

Success! 1 matching holder was found.

You can also change the criteria and search again.

Confinue with selected Holder

/

Negative Report Detall

Holder Information

Holder name:

Chucks Boxes LTD

Tax ID: 55-2222251
Holder ID: 103365
Incorporated Date: 1/1/1950
Reporting Year: 2018

STOP! if you cannot attest to the requirements, you
may not proceed with the online transmission of your
holder report. Under penalty of perjury, | hereby
acknowledge | am an employee who is authorized to act
on behalf of the holder reporting the abandoned
property in the attached file to the state of Nevada. |
also declare to the best of my knowledge and belief,
that the information provided in this report, and in the
attached schedule, are true and correct and that written
naotice to the owners, i.e., Due Diligence, has been
completed, pursuant to NRS 120A.560. By checking
this box, | agree this is the legal equivalent of my
manual signature on a physical report of unclaimed
property, accept and attest to the statement above and

duly authorized to execute this report online.

¥ Verification and Affidavit

\ ———— /
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(i

f the Tax ID entered does no

. If the holder should already exist please change the criteria and search again.
match any existing Holders, Otherwise, you can create a new holder.
you will receive a warning
message.

'[\ Warning! No matching holders were found.

Negative Reporting is required if a business:

- is registered with the Nevada Secretary of State;
- has a Nevada business license;
- has reported abandoned property to Nevada within the last three years.

Select “Create new Holder”

K / If a business does not meet at least one of these requirements, do not file; the
report will be rejected without further notice.

Enter the information in the fields to create a new Holder.

Create Holder

Name TaxID @
Test Holder 530944777
Street1 Tax ID Ext/Branch @ (Example: 0001)

123 Test Street Ext

Street2 NAICSCode Look up MAICS code

Street 2 22

Incorporated Date

04/05/2018
City Helder Type
Test City | FINANCIAL SERVICES W ‘
State
Nevada v
Zip
82101




A Negative Report will be created. Review the information displayed.

Check the Verification and Affidavit box, then select “Submit Report to
State”.

\_

Negative Report Detall

Holder Information

Holder name: TEST HOLDER
Tax ID: 23-0944777
Holder ID: 103382
Incorporated Date: 4/5/2018
Reporting Year: 2017

STOPI if you cannot attest to the requirements, you
may not proceed with the online transmission of your
holder report. Under penalty of perjury, | hereby
acknowledge | am an employee who is authorized to act
on behalf of the holder reporting the abandoned
property in the attached file to the state of Nevada. |
also declare to the best of my knowledge and belief,
that the information provided in this report, and in the
attached schedule, are true and correct and that written
notice to the owners, i.e., Due Diligence, has been
completed, pursuant to NRS 120A 560. By checking
this box, | agree this is the legal equivalent of my
manual signature on a physical report of unclaimed
property, accept and attest to the statement above and
duly authorized to execute this report online.

] Verification and Affidavit

ubmlt Report (0 State @ /
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