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The Nevada State Treasurer’s Office Unclaimed 
Property Division is committed to assisting holders 
maintain compliance with reporting requirements. 

 
Please do not hesitate to reach out should you 

have any questions or comments: 

 
Phone: (702) 486-4140 

 
Fax: (702) 486-4177 

 
Website: http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/ 

 
Email: nvholder@ nevadatreasurer.gov 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/
mailto:nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov
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QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE 
 

Remit and report 
due date 

Non-insurance businesses must report and pay before November 1 for property presumed 
abandoned as of June 30 of the previous year. 

 

Insurance businesses must report and pay before May 1 for property presumed abandoned 
as of December 31 of the previous year. 

 
Reports are filed by fiscal year; it is currently FY 21 Nevada’s fiscal year begins July 1st 
and ends June 30th. 

Negative reports If your business is incorporated or you are a licensed business owner in Nevada, you must file 
an annual negative report of unclaimed property if you have no property to report. 
Negative reports must be filed through the Nevada Unclaimed Property Division’s (“the 
Division”) online holder reporting portal (“the Portal”). Reports received by any other method 
than through the Portal will not be accepted unless you have received written authorization 
from the Division to file otherwise. 

Due diligence Must be performed within 60 —120 days prior to submitting a report. See page 10 for 
details. 

Remittances Payments are legally required to be remitted to the Division via ACH debit. Prior to remitting 
payment, be sure to contact your bank to provide them with the Division’s company 
code(D886000022) to allow ACH debit transactions. Failure to do so will cause a payment 
to reject. 

 
ACH credit, wire transfers, checks, or other payment methods are not accepted unless prior 
written has been received from this office. An exception form (UP 10) and the attachment 
(UP10A) may be accessed via the following link: Holder Reporting Information [See also, 
Appendix C] 

Aggregate 
reporting 

Aggregate reporting is not accepted. Holders must list all abandoned property owner detail 
for all properties, regardless of the amount being reported. There is no minimum threshold to 
report. 

Fees Payment by ACH debit is mandatory. A holder who fails to make a payment as required will 
be assessed a fee by the Division. The fee will be the greater of $50 or 2 percent of the 
amount of the payment. Written authorization is required from the Division for a holder to 
file a report or submit payment other than by electronic means through the Portal. 

Penalties and 
interest 

See page 13 for information. 

Safe-deposit 
boxes 

See page 19 for information. 

Stock registration 
and delivery 

See page 15-17 for instructions. 

Mutual funds See page 16 for instructions. 

Dividend 
reinvestment 

plans 

See page 15 for instructions. 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/Unclaimed_Property/Holder_Reporting/
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WHAT’S NEW – RECENT CHANGES AND UPDATES 
 

NEW - SECURE Act 
The Setting Every Community Up for Retirement Enhancement Act of 2019, better known as the SECURE Act, which 
originally passed the House of Representatives in July 2019, was approved by the Senate on December19, 2019 and 

signed into law on December 20, 2019.  This act changed the required mandatory distribution age (RMD) from 70 ½ 
to 72.  Further the CARES Act waived any required mandatory distribution for 2020.  While this will not affect 
current year reporting please take this into consideration as these types of accounts age into dormancy.   

Senate Bill 44 
Senate Bill 44 (SB44) of the 2019 Nevada Legislative Session made several changes to Nevada’s unclaimed 

property laws and became effective on July 1, 2019.  While these changes were in effect for the past year’s 

reporting,  revisions of Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 120A have now been issued, and the current statute 

encompasses all changes resulting from SB44.  You can find the updated version of NRS 120A at 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-120A.html and below are the changes with the updated statutory 

references. 

NRS 120A.730 - Fees 

Payment by ACH debit is mandatory. A holder who fails to make a payment as required will be assessed a fee by 

the Nevada Unclaimed Property Division (“the Division”). The fee will be the greater of $50 or 2 percent of the 

amount of the payment. Written authorization is required from the Division for a holder to file a report or submit 

payment other than by electronic means through the Division’s online reporting portal (“the Portal”). 
 

NRS 120A.113 - Virtual (Crypto) Currency 

This definition provides additional clarity that “virtual currency or interest” is “property” and as such, subject to 

unclaimed property laws. Prior to July 1, 2019, virtual currency was deemed property under the NRS 120A.113 

definition of property as “a fixed and certain interest in intangible property that is held, issued or owed in the course 

of a holder’s business”. The presumption of abandonment for virtual currency is covered under NRS 120A.500(1)(n), 

through June 30, 2019 and SB44 (2019) Section 11(1)(o) as of July 1, 2019. For reporting purposes, the property- 

type code for virtual currency is MS17 “Miscellaneous Currency”. As Nevada does not currently have the capability to 

receive virtual currency in native form, it must be liquidated prior to submitting a report, with the cash value on the 

date of liquidation included on, and remitted with, the report. As reports are due before November 1 of each year, it 

is recommended that the liquidation be no earlier than one month before remitting the report and that the date for 

liquidation remain consistent from year-to-year. 

NRS 120A.080 

“Holder” has been amended to include “business” or “assumed to be obligated” to be holding property for a business 

or individual. 

Definitions for “Payroll card” and “Stored-value card” have been added to the statute. 
 

The definition of “Money order” has been amended to include, “an order for payment of a specified amount of money”. 
 

The definition of “Property” has been amended to include “all income from or increments to the property”. This includes 

money, virtual currency or interest, or a payroll card, dividend, check, draft, or deposit, stored-value card, unused 

ticket for which the issuer has an obligation to provide a refund, a security, except for a security that is subject to a 

lien, legal hold or restriction restricts the holder’s or owner’s ability to receive, transfer, sell or otherwise negotiate the 

security, a security, and a distribution or payment of a dividend. The term does not include property held in an ABLE 

account, game-related digital content, or a loyalty card. 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-120A.html
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NRS 120A.500 

A provision was added to determine when an account of funds established to meet the costs of burial are considered 

abandoned. The Division will interpret the recent statutory language as follows: 
 

What types of accounts should be turned over as unclaimed property? 

• “An account of funds established to meet the costs of burial” will be interpreted to mean those contracts 

established pursuant to NRS 689.150-.375 and as defined under NRS 689.150(3) for Prepaid Contracts for 

Funeral Services, as well as, those contracts established pursuant to NRS 689.450-.730 and as defined 

under NRS 689.475 for Prepaid Contracts for Burial and Cemetery Services.  

• As provided in NRS 689.480(2)(a), plots, niches, crypts should not be turned over as unclaimed property, as 

they should be separately provided for and identified in the contract. 
 

How should amounts be calculated and turned over as unclaimed property? 

• The Division will interpret amounts due to be turned over as those which reflect net purchase price of the contract as 

established under NRS 689.065. 
 

How should amounts be calculated and turned over as unclaimed property? 

• The Division will expect that the property owner be listed as the beneficiary of the contract, as required under NRS 

689.150(3) and NRS 689.475(1). 
 

Example:  
In 2015, ABC Funeral Home established a funeral services contract with Barbara (the buyer) and her brother, Bob (the 
beneficiary) for a total price of $10,000. In April of 2020, Bob passed away at age 89, and his family chose to not use 
the preneed contract, nor did they seek to receive a refund. Accordingly, before ABC Funeral Home should report the net 
purchase price ($7,500, assuming a 25% sales commission as allowed under statute) as unclaimed property to the State 
in the name of Bob.  

 

NRS 120A.560 

This section has been amended to include provisions regarding holders utilizing third party reporters to submit reports 

to the Division. Doing so does not alleviate the responsibility of the holder for submitting complete, timely, and 

accurate reports of property presumed abandoned, for paying or delivering the property described in the report, 

and for any penalties, interest, and fees due pursuant to NRS 120A.730. 

If the apparent owner has previously agreed in writing to receive communication via email, the holder must send due 

diligence notification both by US mail and email, unless the holder believes the address and/or email address are 

invalid. 

 

Deduction and withholding codes 

INDIVIDUAL RETIREMENT ACCOUNTS – INCOME TAX WITHHELD (TW) 
On January 1, 2020, the Internal Revenue Service Ruling 2018-17 became effective concerning withholding and 
reporting taxes with respect to payments from Individual Retirement Accounts (“IRAs”) to state unclaimed property 
programs. 

 
Holders reporting these properties should make use of the NAUPA Standard Deduction and Withholding code “TW” 
to represent “Income Tax Withheld”. The value “TW” should be recorded in the PROPERTY record in the PROP-  
 
DEDUCTION-TYPE field. The amount of Federal Tax Withheld should be stored in the PROP-DEDUCTION-AMOUNT 
field. This code should be used for any taxes withheld from remitted properties. The value of the property before the 
deduction should be stored in the PROP-AMOUNT-REPORTED field. The amount remitted to the state after the Federal 
Tax Withholding should be stored in the PROP-AMOUNT-REMITTED field. It is imperative that all withheld taxes are 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-689.html#NRS689Sec150
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reflected in reports of unclaimed property, so that the claimants may be so advised and address this in conjunction 
with their tax reporting. For more information related to the NAUPA reporting standard, please visit: 
https://unclaimed.org/wp-content/uploads/NAUPAStandardElectronicFileFormat-11.20.19.pdf 

 

Companies who withhold taxes should report and remit those taxes to the Internal Revenue Service or other taxing 
agency. Contact your legal or tax advisor for reporting and remittance instructions. For more information on the 
Revenue Ruling 2018-17, visit: 
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-18-17.pdf 

 

Service Charges 

Per “NRS 120A.540 Dormancy charge. A holder may deduct from property presumed abandoned a charge 
imposed by reason of the owner’s failure to claim the property within a specified time only if there is a valid and 
enforceable written contract between the holder and the owner under which the holder may impose the charge and 
the holder regularly imposes the charge, which is not regularly reversed or otherwise cancelled. The amount of the 
deduction must not exceed $5 per month.” Holders with allowable deductions may use the following codes: 

SW – Service Charge – For dormancy fees. Note: Fee cannot be more than $5 per month and may only apply 

once a property is presumed abandoned. 
 

ZZ – Deduction Code Not Identified – Note: Use of this deduction code requires prior written approval from the 
Nevada Unclaimed Property Division. Failure to do so will result in the report rejecting. 

 

Reporting and payment requirements 

Please be aware that Senate Bill 44 explicitly codified the requirement that holders must submit reports and 

payments through the Portal. Previously, the requirement to submit reports and payments online was authorized by 

statute and confirmed via a published industrywide notice. As before, paper reports, CD ROMS, USB flash drives, 
 

spreadsheets, report files, and diskettes submitted by US mail, email, or online, will not be accepted unless prior 

written authorization has been granted by the Division. 

As a reminder, holder reports and payments submitted through the Portal are encouraged to be submitted 

simultaneously. Holders must contact their financial institutions to authorize ACH debit PRIOR to sending 

payments through the Portal by providing them with Nevada’s company code (D886000022) or the payment 

will reject. Be aware that a rejected payment cannot be resubmitted until the initial error has been corrected. 

Rejected payments may be subject to penalty and interest if the resubmitted payment is received after the reporting 

due date pursuant to NRS 120A.730. 

Payment / report exceptions 

Requests to pay by any other means than by ACH debit require the completion of an ACH Debit Payment Exception 

Form. [ACH Debit Payment Exception Form UP-10 – Appendix C] The request must provide a detailed explanation 

for the need to submit payment outside of the standard process and requires specific information from the reports 

that the payment will apply to. Accordingly, reports must be prepared prior to submitting an exception request. Scan 

and attach additional documentation, if required, to support an exception request. Sending an email request without 

the required exception forms and report documentation will not be accepted. 

Requests to file a holder report by any other means than through the Portal require the completion of an Online 

Report Filing Exception Form UP-12. [Appendix C] The form must provide a detailed explanation for the need to 

submit a report outside of the standard process. Scan additional documentation, if required, to support your request. 

Visit http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/Unclaimed_Property/Holder_Reporting/ to view the Online Holder Reporting 

User Manual, register for access, submit reports, or seek an exception. 

https://unclaimed.org/wp-content/uploads/NAUPAStandardElectronicFileFormat-11.20.19.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-18-17.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/Unclaimed_Property/Holder_Reporting/
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GENERAL INFORMATION 

What is unclaimed property? 

Unclaimed property can be any financial asset owed to another business or individual. Property is considered 

abandoned when there has been no activity or contact with an owner for a specific period. The property type will 

determine the abandonment period; however, it is typically three years. When a holder’s attempts to locate the 

rightful owner have been unsuccessful, the assets must be remitted to the Nevada State Treasurer’s Unclaimed 

Property Division. The Division will hold the assets in perpetuity and publicly advertise the rightful owners’ information 

in an effort to return the property. Once the assets are reported to the Division, the holder is released from any 

liability. 

Nevada’s Unclaimed Property program is governed by Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 120A, and Nevada 

Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 120A. 

 

Reporting requirements 

Nevada law requires all governmental entities, business organizations, and individuals (“holders”) to annually review 

their financial records to determine whether they are holding any funds, securities, other intangible properties, and 

certain tangible properties that have remained unclaimed for the required dormancy period. Dormancy periods vary 

by property type. [Appendix A] If holders are holding unclaimed property, they must file a report and remit the 

property to the state of the owners’ last known addresses. Please note, there is no minimum threshold report amount. 

Any amount meeting Nevada abandoned property requirements is reportable. Holders of unclaimed property are 

required to include each property on the appropriate report year as there is not grace period. 

Reports and remittances received after the required due date are subject to interest and penalty under the provisions 

of NRS 120A.730. Requests for waivers of interest and penalty may be submitted for consideration at the time of 

submitting reports and remittances and must include the reason for the late submission. This, however, will not prevent 

the Division from initiating audit procedures if it has been determined there is additional property to be reported. 

If no unclaimed property is found, businesses may still be required to prepare a “negative” report for submission to 

the Division. 

 

What must be reported? 

Property in which no contact from the owner has been received by the holder after performing due diligence, or in 

which the owner cannot be located after the required statutory period has lapsed, must be reported. 

Examples of reportable items include wages, commissions, payroll or salary checks, utility deposits, refunds, checks, 

money orders, traveler’s checks, safe-deposit box contents, stocks, gift cards/certificates. In addition, Nevada 

domiciled holders must report items to Nevada that have no owner name or address, as well as all items where the 

last known address is in a foreign country. 

Reportable items and their respective property codes and abandonment periods, as well as dormancy period charts 

are located in Appendix A. 

 

Who must report? 

Any entity or individual in custody of property described above that belongs to a Nevada resident is considered a 

holder of unclaimed property and is required to report the property to the state via the Division. This includes 



Nevada Holder Reporting Manual 2021 

Page  9  

9999 

   

 

 

attorneys, CPAs, medical professionals, and holders of property in other states in custody of property owed to a 

Nevada resident. Any entity conducting business within the state of Nevada that has branches, divisions, or other 

affiliates, is responsible for filing on their behalf, such as those listed below. 

 

Financial institutions 

Banking and financial organizations including banks, trust companies, savings banks, safe-deposit companies, private 

banks, savings and loan associations, credit unions, investment companies, whether state or federally chartered. 

 

Businesses 

Business associations, corporations, sole proprietorships, partnerships, retail, cooperatives, transfer agents, fiduciaries, 

mutual funds, insurance, limited liability, business trust, or other association for business purposes of two or more 

individuals, whether or not for profit (including all insurance entities). 

 

Utilities 

Utilities owned or operated for public use, including any plant, equipment, property, franchise, or licensee for the 

transmission of communications or the production, storage transmission, sale, delivery, or furnishing of electricity, 

water, steam, or gas. 

 

Government 

Any property held by a court, government, governmental subdivision, agency, or instrumentality. Governments are 

subject to unique dormancy requirements, please see Appendix A. 

Note: All holders, including business associations, banking and financial organizations, utilities, and other legal entities, 

are responsible for filing individual reports on behalf of their branches, divisions, and other affiliated entities. 

 

Help us help you 

The Division strives to reunite owners with their property within 120 days of the submission of a claim (NRS120A.640). 

Prior to preparing and remitting holder reports, please make certain all information that provides help in identifying 

the owners and properties is listed. In doing so, holders will help us help them by eliminating the need to direct 

claimants back to holders or contact holders for assistance in processing claims. The owners’ complete names, 

addresses, and social security numbers are essential in verifying the rightful owner during claims processing. 

Each year voluntary compliance continues to increase making it more time consuming to add reported detail to our 

unclaimed property database. It is the Division’s responsibility to maintain the integrity of the data received for ease 

of use for property owners, timely payment of claims, and to ensure that holders report and remit all unclaimed 

property in the manner as set forth by Nevada law. 
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HOLDER REPORTING 

Determining dormancy 

Determining when a property is presumed abandoned and necessary to report is a challenging topic and dependent 

on property type. NRS 120A.500 addresses both the occurrence that starts the dormancy clock and the necessary 

time period that must pass before property is presumed abandoned, and therefore reportable. Occurrences that 

trigger the dormancy clock include events such as issuance dates, dates an obligation arose, distribution dates, an 

owner reaching a certain age, and the last time an owner indicated an interest in the property. Various industry terms, 

such as “last activity date” or “last transaction date” are commonly used to describe these occurrences which starts the 

clock to determine dormancy. When reviewing records, it is necessary to understand the type of property held and 

review NRS 120A.500 to establish what the applicable occurrence and associated period until the property is 

deemed abandoned. When preparing a report, the applicable triggering event is the date to be included as the 

“last activity date”. 

 

Online reporting 

Please note, online reporting and payment is mandatory, (see page 6 “Reporting and payment requirements”). 

Specifically, holder reports and payments are required to be filed and submitted electronically through the Portal. 

For step-by-step instructions on using the Portal, please review the Holder Module User Manual available at the 

following link: 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/Hold 

er_Module_User_Manual.pdf. 

 

Report formatting 

All reports must be submitted in NAUPA Standard Electronic File Format (NAUPA). HRS Pro software enables holders 

to create encrypted secure files to protect all owner-sensitive data. The software is specifically designed to create 

NAUPA standard formatted reports. This free software is limited to 200 properties per state report. If reporting more 

than 200 properties, the HRS Pro Enterprise Edition or other software meeting NAUPA requirements may be 

purchased. The HRS Pro Enterprise Edition provides user support and multi-user capability for an annual fee. There is 

no user support for the free edition. Both versions are endorsed by the National Association of Unclaimed Property 

Administrators. For more information, visit https://www.wagers.net/hrs/. 

In addition to HRS Pro, there are a variety of other NAUPA report preparation software programs available for 

purchase. When purchasing electronic reporting software from another vendor, holders must ensure the formatting 

conforms to state requirements and is in NAUPA format. 

When entering owner information into a report, names must be formatted as “last first middle initial”. Do not use 

commas, asterisks, dashes, or any punctuation; doing so will hinder name searches. 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/Holder_Module_User_Manual.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/Holder_Module_User_Manual.pdf
https://www.wagers.net/hrs/


Nevada Holder Reporting Manual 2021 

Page  11  
111111

11 

   

 

 

Negative reports 

Business entities and sole proprietors who are incorporated or licensed to conduct business in Nevada must still submit 

a “negative” report to the Division even if no unclaimed property is found. Individuals who require a license to 

perform a job (e.g., realtor, cosmetologist, nurse, teacher, electrician) are not required to file an annual negative 

report unless they are a business owner. 

NEW! – Out-of-state holders that file a one-time only report in Nevada are no longer required to file three 

consecutive years of negative reports. 

Due diligence requirements 
Holders of abandoned property are required by law to send written notice to an apparent owner stating they are in 

custody of an owner’s property if: 

• The value of the property is $50 or more; 

• The holder has in its records an address and/or email for the apparent owner that the holder’s records do not 

disclose to be invalid; and 

• The claim of the apparent owner is not barred by a statute of limitations. 

 
Allowing an owner, the opportunity to collect funds from a holder relieves the holder of the liability to report and 

remit funds to Nevada. 

Please see Appendix B for a sample due diligence letter. 
 

Due diligence timeline 

Holders must wait not less than 60 days after mailing/emailing due diligence letters before submitting reports to the 

Division by the due date. 

Holders must wait not more than 120 days from the date that due diligence letters are mailed/emailed to submit 

reports to the Division by the due date. 

Please do not use the due diligence date as the date of last activity. 
 

Additional due diligence considerations 

It is to a holder’s advantage to return funds to an owner rather than to the Division. Owners who still maintain a 

business relationship or are still employed by a holder become frustrated when property is unnecessarily remitted. If 

notice is not sent due to the holder’s belief that address/email address is invalid, the holder may be subject to 

penalties if it is discovered that owner addresses included in a report are valid. 

All holders should check their records to determine if owners have additional accounts that may be active which 

eliminates the need to remit property. 

NEW: As mentioned previously, unless the holder believes an email address is invalid, if the apparent owner has 

previously agreed in writing to receive communications via email, the holder must send due diligence notification both 

by US mail and email. 

Holder reporting requires holders to attest that they have performed due diligence pursuant to NRS 120A.560 and 

attest submitter is authorized to electronically ‘sign’ on behalf of the reporting entity before a report can be 

submitted. 
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Please retain all documents related to due diligence, as it will be used in the event of an audit; however, holders 

should not submit proof of due diligence with a report. 

Submitting reports 

When is the earliest reports can be submitted? 
 

For reports that do not require due diligence (as no property values exceeded $50), holders may submit reports 

beginning on July 1 (Jan. 1for insurance). Otherwise, determining when holder reports can be submitted is dependent 

on the date in which due diligence letters were sent. As a reminder, the earliest due diligence letters can legally be 

mailed is 120 days prior to the date the holder report is filed, and the latest due diligence letters can legally be 

mailed is 60 days prior to the date the holder report is filed. For example, if due diligence letters are mailed on July 

1st (January 1st for insurance entities), a holder could submit a report beginning on September 1st (March 1st for 

insurance entities). 

Nevada reports are filed by fiscal year which begins annually on July 1st and ends on June 30th. It is currently FY 

2021. Nevada’s fiscal year 2022 will begin on July 1, 2021. 

Reports submitted with property that has not reached its dormancy period will be rejected unless prior written 

approval has been obtained by the Division. 

When are reports due? 
 

Insurance entities’ reports are due prior to May 1st of each year for property presumed abandoned during the 

calendar year ending December 31st. 

Business entities’ reports are due prior to November 1st of each year for property presumed abandoned during the 

fiscal year ending June 30th. 

Please see the remit year tables in Appendix A to determine when property is due to be reported. 
 

Depending on the type of property, if there has been actual contact with an owner during the remit year, the 

property may not be reportable to the state, as it is may no longer be considered abandoned. 

Dormancy charges 
Pursuant to NRS 120A.540, a holder may deduct from “property presumed abandoned”, a charge imposed by 

reason of the owner's failure to claim the property within a specified time only if there is a valid and enforceable 

written contract between the holder and the owner under which the holder may impose the charge and the holder 

regularly imposes the charge, which is not regularly reversed or otherwise cancelled. 

The code “SW” is authorized for use for Nevada properties. Dormancy charges cannot be more than $5 per month 

and only apply once a property is presumed abandoned. 

Please note that holders must be able to provide the information below and maintain a record of each deduction for 

at least seven years should there be an audit, or an owner believes there is a discrepancy. Holder reports submitted 

with deductions to the Division that do not comply to NRS 120A.540 will be returned/rejected unprocessed to be 

correctly resubmitted and may be subject to penalty and interest. 

The additional following information shall be retained for deductions stemming from charges assessed on reported 

properties to ensure they were made in compliance with NRS 120A.540: 
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• Copy of the owner’s contract representing consent for such a charge; and 

• Copy of the business entity’s policy to not regularly reverse or otherwise cancel. Evidence of routine reversal 

of charges may invalidate the deductibility of such charges. 

 
Holders in custody of Nevada property may make deductions that have been agreed upon by the property owner in 

writing at the time the account was initiated, e.g., minimum balance fees charged against a savings account. 

Recouping due diligence expenses for costs such as postage and employee hours is NOT permitted. 

 

Out-of-state holders 

If an owner has a last known address in Nevada, reporting is required for holders that do not do business in, are not 

located in, and/or are not incorporated in Nevada, when properties have met the dormancy standards per NRS 

120A.500. 

 

Foreign holders / holders without a TIN / FEIN 

The Portal requires and verifies certain data contained in a report when it is uploaded, which includes a holder’s 

FEIN/TIN. If a holder does not have a FEIN/TIN, holders must enter “33-3333333” in the FEIN/TIN field of a holder 

report. 

As a reminder, FEIN/TIN is a mandatory data field for Nevada. Using a fictitious number equates to filing an 

inaccurate report, which may subject a holder to penalties. If a holder has an assigned FEIN/TIN, it must be provided, 

do not use 33-3333333. 
 

Early reporting 
Pursuant to NRS 120A.660, holders requesting to remit abandoned property prior to the required dormancy period 

must send an email request to nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov with the reason for reporting early. The reason for 

early reporting should be in the owner’s best interest. Property submitted to the Division that has not reached the 

required abandonment period and has not received approval from this office will be returned. Reports that are 

submitted that did not receive written approval from the Division will be rejected. Please note, due diligence 

requirements still apply when remitting property early. 
 

Request for an extension 

An extension may be granted beyond the filing due date under certain conditions. If a holder cannot remit a report 

before November 1st (before May 1st for all insurance entities), the holder must complete a Request for Extension 

Form UP-7. [Appendix C]. The form must be received at least 30 days prior to the date the property is due. 
 

Late reporting 

Unless there is an exception previously approved by the Division, reports received after the due date (prior to 

November 1 for businesses and government, prior to May 1 for insurance) will be subject to penalty and interest, 

pursuant to NRS 120A.730. 
 

Remitting payment 

Payment is required to be remitted via ACH debit. Holders must contact their financial institutions to authorize 

ACH debit PRIOR to sending payments through the Portal by providing them with Nevada’s company code 

(D886000022) or the payment will reject. Be aware that a rejected payment cannot be resubmitted until the initial 

error has been corrected. Rejected payments may be subject to penalty and interest if the resubmitted payment is 

received after the reporting due date pursuant to NRS 120A.730. 

mailto:nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov
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Fees 

Pursuant to NRS 120A.730, holders are required to submit reports and remit payments through the Portal. 

Remittances are required to be submitted by ACH debit. Any variation from this requirement requires pre-approval. 

Pre-approval must be requested through the ACH Debit Payment Exception Form UP-10. [Appendix C]. Absent a 

pre-approval, a holder will be charged a fee in an amount equal to the greater of 

$50 or 2% of the amount of the payment. 
 

For holders remitting securities or safekeeping contents, please refer to the specific directions in this manual found on 

pages 15 and 19, respectively. 

 

Third-party reporting agreements 

Agreements between third-party reporting entities that provide report processing and submission, payroll services, act 

as transfer agents, etc., are between a holder and the third-party reporting entity only. The State of Nevada and/or 

the Division is not a party to these agreements, nor do the agreements exempt holders of their legal obligation to 

report and remit abandoned property. 

Be sure to retain these agreements for seven years from the date that a report (utilizing a third-party reporter) was 

submitted as they may be reviewed during an audit. 

 

Reimbursements and adjustments 

If an owner comes forward to claim property on a report that has been prepared for remittance but not yet 

submitted to the Division, the holder must do one of the following: 

• Revise the report by deleting the property and adjusting the amount and remittance; or 

• Submit the report, as is, and follow the instructions for completing a Request for Holder Reimbursement Form 

UP-4. [Appendix C] 

Prior to reimbursing a claimant, please contact the Division to determine whether a claim has been filed and/or paid 

on the property in question. 

 
 

Records retention 

Holders are required to retain abandoned property records for a period of seven (7) years after filing a report. 
 

Business and financial organizations that provide checks, money orders, or similar instruments other than third-party 

bank checks, in which the organization is directly liable, must maintain records while instruments remain outstanding for 

three years after the holder has filed a report. 

 

Penalties and interest 

The Nevada Unclaimed Property Division’s mission is to serve Nevada. This mission includes reuniting owners with their 

property. Penalties and interest are assessed to aid in the timely reporting of property, submission of reporting, and 

associated payment, which ultimately helps the Division achieve that goal. Penalties and/or interest may be waived 

through various methods. See the Voluntary Disclosure Agreement section below. 

Audits 

The Division’s audit staff conducts examinations of records to ensure holders comply with the state’s unclaimed 

property requirements (NRS 120A.690). 



Nevada Holder Reporting Manual 2021 

Page  15  
151515

15 

   

 

Late reporting, non-reporting, consumer complaints, no last activity dates, and improper aging, are just a few 

examples that can trigger an audit. 

 

Voluntary Disclosure Agreement (VDA) 

The Voluntary Disclosure Agreement program was established to encourage non-reporters with special circumstances 

to report and pay past due unclaimed property to attain compliance and qualify for a waiver due to failure to 

properly report, pursuant to the requirements of NRS 120A. 

Holders interested in participating in the VDA program must apply for and receive approval from the Division. 
 

The VDA program requires holders to review their records in the same manner they would be reviewing them for 

annual reporting, and to report and remit all currently due and past due properties. The VDA program also requires 

a holder to allow for a review of their policies and procedures to provide the holder with the tools needed to ensure 

compliance in future reporting periods. If a holder is interested in what kind of information the Division looks for in 

policies and procedures, or for general information on the VDA program, please contact the Division’s audit staff at: 

UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov. 

The Division’s goal is to guide holders to compliance, offer relief from penalties on the current report and to 

safeguard holders so they are not assessed penalties and interest on future reports. Use the Division’s expertise to 

your advantage and apply today! [Appendix C] 

Note: For holders who wish to participate in the VDA program that are not incorporated, located nor doing business in 

Nevada, please note that the Division expects the contents of a holder’s policies and procedures to reflect Nevada 

requirements as if the holder was a Nevada holder. Additionally, as annual reporting is already required of Nevada 

holders, reporting will be required for 3 years subsequent to the admittance into the program. 

mailto:UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov
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SPECIAL PROPERTY TYPES 

Delivery and registration of securities and mutual funds 
 

Please note, securities representing underlying shares, stock splits, bonds, etc., must be registered in our nominee 

name: Nevada Unclaimed Property. 

Securities found in safe-deposit boxes must be inventoried and remitted to the Division as is. Do not deposit funds and 

remit via check or EFT. Instructions for remitting safe-deposit box contents are located on page 19. 

DTC transfers 

Holders participating in DTC (Depository Trust Company) MUST transfer re-registered securities directly to: 

Nominee Name: Nevada Unclaimed Property 

FEIN: 88-6000022 

DTC Participant #: 901** 

Agent Bank #: 26500** 

Account #: 822494** 

 
Book entry shares/ Direct Registration Shares (DRS)/Dividend Reinvestments Shares: 

 

Nominee Name: Nevada Unclaimed Property 

FEIN: 88-6000022 

c/o Avenue Insights & Analytics 

100 Hancock St FL 10 

Quincy MA 02171 

 
Fed Delivery: 

Federal Reserve Bank of New York 

ABA# 0210-0001-8 

Bk of NYC Trust 

FBO—State of Nevada Acct #822494 

 
Dividend Reinvestment Plan 

Dividend Reinvestment Plan shares must be registered to Nevada Unclaimed Property, FEIN # 88-6000022 on the 

day or before the report and remittance are submitted to the Division. Each reported shareowner’s records must 

include the owner name, last transaction date, number of shares, and cash amount remitted, if applicable. 

Corporations may utilize a book entry form of share registration in lieu of issuing physical securities (stock certificates). 

Dividends earned should be issued as cash. 

All holders must list Dividend Reinvestment Plan accounts with Property ID Code: SC19. 
 

The Division will only accept whole shares for each individual when the physical certificates are issued. Fractional 

shares must be liquidated at fair market value when reported. 
 

 

Fractional shares must be sold for each individual when physical certificates are issued and must be reported with 

Property ID Code: SC09. 
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Delivery of open-end mutual funds 

State Custodian, Avenu Insights & Analytics, will provide an account number for all transfers. Do not establish a new 

account number without first contacting the custodian. At least three business days prior to attempting delivery, please 

send an email to the custodian at upch.custody@avenuinsights.com to obtain an account. The registration reference 

account number (822494**) must accompany the email request to identify it as a State of Nevada fund. Allow 

approximately one week for receipt of an account number. 

Account Re-registration: 
 

MAC & Co 822494 

Mutual Fund Operations 

500 Grant ST 

Room 151-1010 

Pittsburgh, PA 15258 

Send interested party statements for Open–End Mutual Fund accounts to: 

Avenu Insights & Analytics 

Custody Department 

100 Hancock Street, 10th Floor 

Quincy, MA 12171 

 
Dividend Selection—Pay in Cash 

 
Delivery of closed-end mutual funds 

Deliver via DTC. Contact state custodian, Avenu Insights & Analytics, 48 hours prior to delivery at 

upch.custody@avenuinsights.com. Provide security name, CUSIP, shares, state, and your DTC #. 

Deliver to: 
 

DTC #901 

Account 822494 

State of Nevada 

Dividend Selection—Pay in Cash 
 

Physical certificates 

If a holder is unable to deliver through DTC, DRS or DWAC, register and deliver physical certificates via the 

following: 

Hare & Co/Account # 822494 

FEIN 13-6062916 

The Depository Trust Company 

570 Washington Blvd FL 5 

Jersey City NJ 07310 
 

ATTN: BNY Mellon/Branch Deposit Department/Account #822494—State of Nevada 
Two days prior to actual delivery, the Division will require an excel list of the securities, including CUSIP numbers, 

number of shares, issue names, certificate numbers, and the delivering party’s information. Email the excel list to: 

upch.custody@avenuinsights.com. 

mailto:upch.custody@avenuinsights.com
mailto:upch.custody@conduent.com
mailto:upch.custody@conduent.com
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Please note, physical certificates will be returned if DTC, DWAC, or DRS eligible. If physical certificates are returned, 

penalties will be assessed if not corrected. 

Worthless or non-transferable securities 

The Division will accept all securities. If a security cannot be delivered to the Division’s brokerage account (Avenu 

Insights & Analytics), the reporting company must provide a statement showing the security in Nevada’s name and tax 

ID number. Statements should be mailed when the initial report is submitted and then quarterly, unless there is activity 

in the account. If a holder chooses not to report worthless securities, DO NOT transfer the stock into Nevada’s name 

and Tax ID number. ALL securities transferred into Nevada’s name and Tax ID number must be reported. 

Foreign securities 

For foreign securities, contact Timothy Woodward at Avenu Insights & Analytics: 

Timothy.Woodward@avenuinsights.com. 

 

Court ordered unclaimed property 

Please verify that a court order specifies the funds are to be directed to the Office of the State Treasurer – 

Unclaimed Property Division. Holders reporting court ordered funds must ensure the funds are to be remitted to the 

Unclaimed Property Division and not a county treasurer or the State Controller’s Office. 

Please contact the Division for instructions for reporting court ordered unclaimed property funds. Court ordered 

reports cannot be filed online. A copy of the court order must be emailed to nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov for 

review, prior to attempting to file a report. Once the court order has been reviewed and approved, report forms, 

remittance information, and instructions will be provided. 

Escheated estates 
 

Estates escheated to the State of Nevada pursuant to NRS 154.010 are NOT considered abandoned property and 

do not remit to the Unclaimed Property Division. Prior to remitting properties, please review the statute below to 

ensure the property being held does not apply: 

NRS  154.010 An estate escheats to and is vested in the State of Nevada for educational purposes if any 

person dies or has died, within this State, seised of any real or personal estate, and leaving no heirs, 

representatives or devisees capable of inheriting or holding the estate, and in all cases where there is no 

owner of the estate capable of holding it. Any balance remaining in a retired employee’s or beneficiary’s 

individual account under the Public Employees’ Retirement System or the Judicial Retirement System 

established pursuant to chapter 1A of NRS is not an estate within the meaning of this chapter. 

 
 

Estates 

When reporting ‘estate’ properties, names must be formatted as ‘Jones Tom Estate of’ using owner-type code ‘2’ 

(Estate) and owner-relationship code ‘PA’. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Properties with multiple owners 

If there is more than one owner, each name must be listed separately under the same property. Please do not list joint 

owners’ names on the same line. 

 
 

mailto:Timothy.Woodwar@avenuinsights.com
mailto:nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov
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Settlement funds 

Please contact the Division for instructions for reporting settlement funds at nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov. 

Settlement reports cannot be filed online. A copy of the settlement agreement must be emailed prior to attempting to 

file a report. Upon review the agreement, report forms, remittance information, and instructions will be provided. 

 

Aggregate properties 
Nevada does not allow properties to be reported in aggregate. 

 

Business to business exemptions 

Any credit memoranda, overpayments, credits balances, deposits, unidentified remittances, non-refunded 

overcharges, discounts, refunds, and rebates due or owing from a holder that is a business association to another 

business association shall not be presumed abandoned if the holder and such business association have an ongoing 

business relationship. Please note, this statement does not apply to outstanding checks, drafts, or other similar 

instruments and, therefore, must be reported as unclaimed property. 

An ongoing business relationship shall be deemed to exist if the holder has engaged in at least one commercial, 

business, or professional transaction involving the sale, lease, license, or purchase of goods or services with the 

business association or a predecessor-in-interest of the business association within each three year period that follows 

the date of the transaction giving rise to the property interest that shall not be presumed abandoned. Once the 

business relationship ends, the business to business exemption no longer applies. 

 

Individual Retirement Accounts 

Traditional IRAs 

Traditional IRAs become reportable three years after the later of the dates as determined by A&B below: 
 

A. The date determined as: 
 

(A) The date a second consecutive communication sent by the holder by first-class United States mail to the 

apparent owner is returned to the holder undelivered by the United States Postal Service; or 

(B) If the second communication is sent later than 30 days after the date the first communication is returned 

undelivered, the date the first communication was returned undelivered by the United States Postal Service; 

OR 
 

B. The earlier of the following dates: 
 

(A) The date the apparent owner becomes 70.5 years of age, if determinable by the holder; or 
 

 

(B) If the Internal Revenue Code requires distribution to avoid a tax penalty, 2 years after the date the holder 

receives, in the ordinary course of business, confirmation of the death of the apparent owner. 

Refer to page 7 for recently enacted mandatory Income Tax Withholding required by IRS effective January 1, 2020. 

NOTE:  The SECURE Act, enacted into law on December 20, 2019, changes the Required Minimum Distribution 
(RMD) age from 70.5 to 72.   Additionally, the CARES Act of 2020 waived any required minimum distribution for 
2020.  Statutory revisions will be forthcoming to address this change, however, it will not affect current year 
reporting.   

 

 

mailto:nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov
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Roth IRAs 
 

Roth IRAs do not have a mandatory payout provision and only become reportable if an owner dies or there has been 

no activity for three years. 

 

Property and/or reports due to other states 

The Division does not accept properties or reports due to other states. 

 

Gaming establishments 

Gaming establishments (casinos) in Nevada are subject to the same reporting laws as any other entity conducting 

business that is required to remit property pursuant to NRS 120A. Gaming establishments are also responsible for 

reporting and remitting front money, wagering accounts, and other cash deposits held on behalf of a patron. 

The following items are NOT considered abandoned property and should not remitted as unclaimed property: 

• Underage jackpots 

• Unclaimed winnings 

• Chip floats 

• Ticket in/ticket out payments (TITO) 

• Loose money, chips, cameras, eyeglasses, etc. 

• Items left in a hotel in-room safe 

 

Safe-deposit boxes 

The provisions of NRS 120A only apply to tangible property held in a safe-deposit box or other safekeeping 

depository which is maintained by: 

• A bank or other financial institution; or 

• A safe-deposit box company 
 

Please note, safekeeping items must be filed in a report separate from intangible items. Any cash found in the safe-deposit 
box should be clearly detailed on the inventory sheet and on the electronic report using the safekeeping code CURR 
(Currency.) Foreign bills should be reported under the code FCUR (Foreign Currency) and foreign coins under the code COIN 
(Various Coins.) 

  
Safekeeping contents should be placed in a 9 X 12 inch, or larger, envelope or plastic bag. The owner names and box 
numbers or other identifying numbers must be clearly marked on the outside of the envelope. Holders should attach a 
Safekeeping Inventory Form UP-6 [Appendix C] to each envelope/plastic bag. Place the envelopes in alphabetical order by 
owner last name or business name. 

to Please do not remit safekeeping for other states the Division; it will be returned unprocessed. 
 

Please do not report empty boxes. Instead, boxes should be drilled prior to preparing reports to avoid unnecessary 

labor. 

If any of the safekeeping boxes contain firearms (except for antiques), controlled substances, or contents that could 

be deemed illegal, holders should follow their internal policy regarding contraband. Holders should include a written 

explanation regarding how the safekeeping in question was handled with the remittance. 
 

Safekeeping inventory must be delivered between January and March of each year. Contact the Division at 702- 

486-4140 or unclaimedproperty@nevadatreasurer.gov to let the Division know the anticipated delivery date. 

mailto:unclaimedproperty@nevadatreasurer.gov
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Cash and/or securities found in safekeeping boxes must be inventoried and remitted to the Division as is. Do not 

deposit funds and remit via check or EFT. The responsibility of holders is to report the box contents, not to alter them. 

 

Gift certificates 

Gift certificate is defined by and subject to Nevada laws contained in NRS 598.0921 and NRS 120A.520, 

respectively. The expiration date of a gift certificate will determine its required reporting and remittance. 

If a gift certificate was issued on or after October 1, 2007, the following rule applies: 

• The gift certificate is reported and remitted in the time period in which it expires. There is no dormancy 

period. It is reported and remitted at 60% of the remaining face value (businesses can retain 40%). If the 

certificate has no expiration date, it is not subject to remittance and 100% of the remaining value must be 

honored indefinitely. 

 
If the gift certificate was issued before October 1, 2007, the following rule applies: 

• If the gift certificate has not been used for at least three years, it is subject to reporting and remittance at 

100% of the remaining face value. These properties have a three-year dormancy period which includes all 

gift cards/certificates whether they expire or not. 
 

Please note, gift certificates may contain expiration dates and impose service fees that reduce the value only if the 

expiration dates or fees are printed in 10-point font on the gift certificate or it contains a toll-free number the owner 

can call to obtain the expiration date, unused balance and or service fee information. If the service fee is based on 

inactivity, the duration of such inactivity cannot be less than three years, cannot be imposed in the first 12 months after 

issuance and cannot exceed $1 per month. 

 

Virtual currency 

“Virtual currency or interest” falls under the definition of property and, as such, subject to unclaimed property laws. 

Prior to July 1, 2019, virtual currency was deemed property under “a fixed and certain interest in intangible 

property that is held, issued or owed in the course of a holder’s business” under NRS 120A.113 definition of Property 

as a fixed and certain interest in intangible property that is held, issued or owed in the course of a holder’s business” 

The presumption of abandonment for virtual currency is covered under NRS 120A.500(1)(n), through June 30, 2019 

and SB44 (2019) Section 11(1)(o) effective July 1, 2019. For reporting purposes, the property-type code for virtual 

currency is MS17 “Miscellaneous Currency”. 

As Nevada does not currently have the capability to receive virtual currency in native form, it is to be liquidated prior 

to submitting the report, with the cash value on the date of liquidation included on and remitted with, the report. As 

reports are due before November 1 of each year, it is recommended that the liquidation be no earlier than one 

month before remitting the report and that the date for liquidation remain consistent from year to year. 

NRS 120A.500 

A provision was added to determine when an account of funds established to meet the costs of burial are considered 

abandoned. The Division will interpret the recent statutory language as follows: 

• “An account of funds established to meet the costs of burial” will be interpreted to mean those contracts 

established pursuant to NRS 689.150-.375 and as defined under NRS 689.150(3) for Prepaid Contracts for 

Funeral Services, as well as, those contracts established pursuant to NRS 689.450-.730 and as defined 

under NRS 689.475 for Prepaid Contracts for Burial and Cemetery Services.  

• As provided in NRS 689.480(2)(a), plots, niches, crypts should not be turned over as unclaimed property, as 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-689.html#NRS689Sec150
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they should be separately provided for and identified in the contract. 
 

• The Division will interpret amounts due to be turned over as those which reflect net purchase price of the contract 

as established under NRS 689.065. 
 

• The Division will expect that the property owner be listed as the beneficiary of the contract, as required under 

NRS 689.150(3) and NRS 689.475(1). 

 

Property from other states / reciprocal agreements 

Nevada does not have active reciprocal agreements with any state; therefore, the following information should be 

adhered to: 
 

In accordance with the United States Supreme Court decisions in Texas vs. New Jersey, Pennsylvania vs. New 

York, Delaware vs. New York, and the 1993 NAUPA resolution, property should first go to the state of the 

owner’s last known address, second should go to the state where the holder is incorporated or domiciled. The 

state of Nevada does not have current reciprocal agreements with any state; therefore, property must be 

reported to the state of the owner’s last known address. Under certain circumstances, permission will be 

granted to report property from other states; however, a state must receive written approval from the 

Division. 

If a state is granted permission to report abandoned property to Nevada; the property must be submitted in NAUPA 

format and meet Nevada’s statutory requirements. The Division reserves the right to refuse a report if received out of 

compliance. 

All unclaimed money orders, travelers checks or similar instruments that were purchased in Nevada must be reported 

to Nevada if the owner’s last known address is unknown. 

All unclaimed property held for owners whose last known address is unknown or is in a foreign country must be 

reported to Nevada if the holder is domiciled or incorporated in Nevada. 

 
Submitting reciprocal reports 
 

Do not upload reciprocal reports through the Portal. States that do not have a secure website for report retrieval, 

should send encrypted/password protected files to: nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov or send encrypted/password 

protected reports on a CD ROM or USB flash drive to the Division’s mailing address: 

State of Nevada 

Office of the State Treasurer 

Unclaimed Property Division 

555 E. Washington Ave. #5200 

Las Vegas, NV 89101 

mailto:nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov
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REPORTING CHECKLIST 

 Report of unclaimed property is in NAUPA format. 

 Report and remittance balance. If submitted out of balance, report will not be accepted. 
 

 Report of unclaimed property and ACH debit payment were submitted through the Division’s online holder 
reporting portal. 

 

 Owner detail is complete and properly formatted in NAUPA file. 

 
1. Valid property, relationship, and owner type codes are correctly posted in NAUPA file (see page 

25). 

 
2. All available owner information is included, e.g., names, social security numbers, addresses, etc. 

 
 Instructions for remitting securities were properly followed (see pages 15-17). 

 
 Securities have been liquidated or transferred into the name of Nevada Unclaimed Property, FEIN 88- 

6000022, and transferred to the State’s custodial account. 

 
 Mutual funds were redeemed or transferred in the name of Nevada Unclaimed Property, 

FEIN 88-6000022, and transferred to the State’s custodial account. 

 
Contact Information: 

Nevada Unclaimed Property 

(702) 486-4140—phone 

(702) 486-4177—fax 

 
Website: http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/ 

Email: nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/
mailto:nvholder@nevadatreasurer.gov
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PROPERTY TYPE CODES & ABANDONMENT PERIODS 
 

ACCOUNTS BALANCES (3 YEARS) 
AC01 CHECKING ACCOUNTS 
AC02 SAVINGS ACCOUNTS 
AC03 MATURED CD OR SAVINGS CERTIFICATE 

AC04 CHRISTMAS CLUB ACCOUNTS 

AC05 MONEY ON DEPOSIT-SECURE FUNDS 
AC06 SECURITY DEPOSITS 

AC07 UNIDENTIFIED DEPOSITS 
AC08 SUSPENSE ACCOUNTS 
AC99 AGGREGATE ACCOUNT BALANCE UNDER $50 

CHECKS (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS NOTED) 
CK01 CASHIER’S CHECKS 

CK02 CERTIFIED CHECKS 
CK03 REGISTERED CHECKS 
CK04 TREASURER’S CHECKS 

CK05 DRAFTS 
CK06 WARRANTS 
CK07 MONEY ORDERS (7 YEARS) 
CK08 TRAVELER’S CHECKS (15 YEARS) 

CK09 FOREIGN EXCHANGE CHECKS 
CK10 EXPENSE CHECKS 
CK11 PENSION CHECKS 

CK12 CREDIT CHECKS OR MEMOS 
CK13 VENDOR CHECKS 

CK14 CHECK WRITTEN OFF—INCOME/SURPLUS 
CK15 OUTSTANDING—CHECKS/EXCHANGE ITEMS 
CK16 CD INTEREST CHECKS 

CK99 AGGREGATE UNCASED CHECKS UNDER $50 

CMBN COMBINED MULTI PROPS ON IMPORT 

EDUCATIONAL SAVINGS ACCOUNTS (3 YEARS) 
CS-01 CASH 

CS-02 MUTUAL FUNDS 

CS-03 SECURITIES 
 

COURT DEPOSITS (1 YEAR) 
CT01 ESCROW FUNDS 

CT02 CONDEMNATION AWARDS 

CT03 MISSING HEIRS’ FUNDS 
CT04 SUSPENSE ACCOUNTS 
CT05 DEPOSITS WITH COURT/PUB AUTH 

CT06 PUBLIC AID CHILD SUPPORT CHECKS 
CT99 AGGREGATE COURT DEPOSITS 

 

HEALTH SAVINGS PLANS (3 YEARS) 
HS01 HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNT 
HS02 HEALTH SAVINGS ACCOUNT INVESTMENT 

INSURANCE (3 YEARS) 
IN01 INDIVIDUAL POLICY BENEFITS OR CLAIM PAYMENTS 
IN02 GROUP POLICY BENEFITS OR CLAIM PAYMENTS 

IN03 DEATH BENEFITS—BENEFICIARIES 
IN04 PROCEEDS—POLICY, ENDOWMENTS, ANNUITIES 
IN05 PREMIUM REFUNDS 
IN06 UNIDENTIFIED REMITTANCES 

IN07 OTHER AMOUNTS DUE UNDER POLICY 
IN08 AGENT CREDIT BALANCES 

IN99 AGGREGATE INSURANCE PROPERTY UNDER $50 
 

TRADITIONAL IRA (3 YEARS) 
IR01 CASH 
IR02 MUTUAL FUNDS 

IR03 SECURITIES 
 

ROTH IRA (3 YEARS) 
IR05 CASH 
IR06 MUTUAL FUNDS 

IR07 SECURITIES 
 

 

ALL government entities (Courts, Governments, a Governmental 
Subdivision, Agency, or Instrumentality) regardless of the property type, are 
legally required to report abandoned property annually. 

 

ALL holders are legally required to report all property types marked (1 
YEAR) annually. All other property types are legally required to report as stated 
above. 

 
All utility companies are legally required to report utility deposits, 
refunds/ rebates annually. 

PROCEEDS FROM MINERAL INTERESTS (3 YEARS) 
MI01 NET REVENUE INTEREST 
MI02 ROYALTIES 
MI03 OVERRIDING ROYALTIES 

MI04 PRODUCTION PAYMENTS 
MI05 WORKING INTERESTS 
MI06 BONUSES 

MI07 DELAY RENTALS 
MI08 SHUT IN ROYALTIES 
MI09 MINIMUM ROYALTIES 

MI99 AGGREGATE MINERAL PROCEEDS 
 

 

MISC PROPERTY (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS NOTED) 
MS01 WAGES, PAYROLL, SALARY (1 YEAR) 
MS02 COMMISSIONS (1 YEAR) 
MS03 WORKER’S COMPENSATION 

MS04 PAYMENTS FOR GOODS, SERVICES 
MS05 CUSTOMER OVERPAYMENTS 
MS06   UNIDENTIFIED REMITTANCES 
MS07     UN-REFUNDED OVERCHARGES 

MS08      ACCOUNTS PAYABLE 

MS09 CREDIT BALANCES—ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE 
MS10 DISCOUNTS DUE 
MS11 REFUNDS DUE 

MS13 UNCLAIMED LOAN COLLATERAL 

MS14 SUMS PAYABLE UNDER PENSION AND PROFIT-SHARING PLANS 
(IRA, KEOUGH0, 401K, ETC) 

MS15 PROPERTY DISTRIBUTABLE IN THE COURSE OF 

DISSOLUTION OR LIQUIDATION (1 YEAR) 
MS16 MISCELLANEOUS OUTSTANDING CHECKS 

MS17 MISCELLANEOUS INTANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY 
MS18 SUSPENSE LIABILITIES 
MS99 AGGREGATE—MISCELLANEOUS PROPERTY UNDER $50 

 

MISC PROPERTY PRESUMED ABANDONED ON EXPIRATION DATE 
MS12 UNREDEEMED GIFT CERTIFICATES (see page 21 for additional information) 

 

SECURITIES (3 YEARS) 
SC01 DIVIDENDS 

SC02 INTEREST PAYABLE ON REGS BONDS 
SC03 NOT USED 

SC04 EQUITY PAYMENTS 
SC05 PROFITS 
SC06 FUNDS PD—SHARES OR INTEREST 

SC07 BEARER BOND INTEREST/MATURED PRINCIPLE 
SC08 SHARES OF STOCK 
SC09 CASH FOR FRACTIONAL SHARES 

SC10 UN-EXCHANGED STOCK SUCCESSOR CORP 
SC11 OTHER CERTIFICATES OF OWNERSHIP 
SC12 UNDERLYING SHARES OR OTHER OUTSTANDING CERTIFICATES 

SC13 FUNDS FOR LIQUIDATION/REDEMPTION OF UN-SURRENDERED STOCK OR BONDS 
SC14 DEBENTURES 
SC15 US GOV'T SECURITIES 

SC16 MUTUAL FUNDS 
SC17 WARRANTS 

SC18 MATURED PRINCIPAL REGS BONDS 
SC19 DIVIDEND REINVESTMENT PLANS 
SC20 CREDIT BALANCES 

SC99 AGGREGATE SECURITY PROPERTY UNDER $50 
 

SAFE-DEPOSIT BOXES AND SAFEKEEPING (3 YEARS) 
SD01 CONTENTS FROM SAFE-DEPOSIT BOXES 
SD02 CONTENTS OTHER SAFEKEEPING 

 

TRUST, INVESTMENT & ESCROW ACCOUNTS (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS 
NOTED) 
TR01 PAYING AGENT ACCOUNTS 
TR02 UNDELIVERED OR UNCASHED DIVIDENDS 
TR03 FUNDS HELD IN A FIDUCIARY CAPACITY FOR GOV’T) 

TR04 ESCROW ACCOUNTS 
TR05 TRUST VOUCHERS 

TR99 AGGREGATE TRUST PROPERTY UNDER $50 

 

UTILITIES (3 YEARS EXCEPT AS NOTED) 
UT01 UTILITY DEPOSITS (1 YEAR) 
UT02 MEMBERSHIP FEES 
UT03 REFUNDS OR REBATES (1 YEAR) 

UT04 CAPITAL CREDIT DISTRIBUTIONS 
UT99 AGGREGATE UTILITY PROPERTIES UNDER $50 
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NEVADA OWNERSHIP CODES 
 

Code Description 

OT All Owners except Aggregate or Unknown – This code represents 
individual property records that are not reported as aggregate or 
unknown and is used when an owner’s name is known and included 
in the report. 

UN Unknown Owner (no name available) – This code represents 
individual property records in which the original owner’s name is 
unknown. 

 

 
NEVADA DEDUCTION AND WITHOLDING CODES 

 

Code Description 

SW Service Charge – This code is for authorized use for Nevada 
properties during the dormancy period. Fees cannot be withheld until 
after a property is presumed abandoned and cannot exceed 
$5 per month until remitted to the State. 

TW Income Tax Withheld- For Individual Retirement Accounts Only. See 
page six for more details. 

ZZ Deduction Code Not Identified Above 
 

NOTE: Use of this deduction code requires prior written 
approval from the Nevada Unclaimed Property Office. Failure to 
do so will result in a report rejecting. 
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NEVADA RELATIONSHIP CODES & DEFINITIONS 
 

Code Description Definition 
AD Administrator A person appointed by the court to handle the estate of someone who died without a 

will, with a will with no nominated executor, or the executor named in the will has died, 
has been removed from the case, or does not desire to serve. 

AF Attorney For A person who has been qualified by a state or federal court to provide legal services, 
including appearing in a court and is authorized to act for another. 

AG Agent For A person who is authorized to act for another (the agent’s principal) through 
employment, by contract or apparent authority. 

AN (AND) Unspecified 
Joint Relationship 

Unspecified joint relationship including ‘AND’. 

BF Beneficiary Any person or entity (like a charity) who is to receive assets or profits from an estate, a 
trust, an insurance policy, or any instrument in which there is a distribution. 

CP Community 
Property 

Property or earnings received by a husband and wife during marriage, other than by 

gift, devise, or descent. Separate property is property owned by a spouse before 

marriage or received during the marriage by gift, devise or descent. In some 

jurisdictions, earnings from separate property are also separate property and, in some 

jurisdictions, such earnings are community property. Recognized by California, Arizona, 

New Mexico, Texas, Nevada, Idaho, Washington, Wisconsin, Louisiana and Puerto Rico. 

CF Custodian An individual entrusted with guarding and keeping property or having custody of a 
person; a person named to manage a child’s property under the UFGTMA; a person or 
entity appointed by a bankruptcy court to take charge of the debtor’s property for 
purposes of administration. 

CN Conservator A person, official or institution appointed by a court to take over and manage the estate 
and financial affairs and/or a person’s daily life due to physical or mental limitations or 
old age; a public official charged with the protection of something affecting public 
welfare and interests. 

DF Defendant The party sued in a civil lawsuit or the party charged with a crime in a criminal 
prosecution. 

ES Estate All the possessions of one who has died and are subject to probate (administration 
supervised by the court) and distribution to heirs and beneficiaries, all the possessions 
which a guardian manages for a ward (young person requiring protection and 
administration of affairs), or assets a conservator manages for a conservatee (a person 
whose physical or mental lack of competence requires administration of his/her affairs). 

EX Executor / 
Executrix 

The person appointed to administer the estate of person who has died leaving a will that 
nominates that person. 

FN For Benefit Of A person who is entitled to property that is held by another person (typically a custodian 
or trustee). FB is typically used in trustee, self-directed, inherited, education and 
transferred accounts. 

GR Guardian A person who has been appointed by a judge to take care of a minor child (called a 

"ward") or incompetent adult personally and/or manage that person's affairs 

HE Heir Anyone who receives property of a deceased person either by will or under the laws of 
descent and distribution. (Explanation: a devisee under a will is also an "heir", even 
though unrelated to the decedent.) 
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Code Description Definition 
IN Insured The person or entity who will be compensated for loss by an insurer under the terms of a 

contract called an insurance policy; the person whose life is insured by life insurance, 
after whose death, the benefits go to others. 

JE Tenants in 
Entireties 

Joint ownership of property or securities by a husband and wife where, upon the death 

of one, the property goes to the survivor. 

JT Joint Tenants An account held in joint tenancy presumes a right of survivorship, but this presumption can 

be overcome by evidence that the account was really the property of only one, and the 

joint tenancy was for convenience. Right of Survivorship is not specifically stated. 

JS Joint Tenants with 
Rights of 

Survivorships 

A type of account owned by at least two people where all tenants have an equal right 

to the account’s assets and are afforded survivorship rights in the event of the death of 

another account holder. In this type of account, a surviving member will inherit the total 

value of the other member’s share of account assets upon the death of the other member. 

All members of the account are afforded the power to conduct investment transactions 

within the account as well. 

OR (OR) Unspecified 
Joint Relationship 

Unspecified joint relationship including 'OR'. 

OT Other Relationship Relationship other than specified in this list. Additional details should be submitted with 

the property/ 

PA Payee The one named on a check or promissory note to receive payment. Each individual 
named as ‘payee’ shall be paid an equal share of the property. 

PD Payable on Death Account is payable on Death to an alternate owner. Upon the original owner's death, the 

beneficiary must supply identification and a copy of the original owner's death 

certificate. 

PO Power of Attorney A written document signed by a person giving another person the power to act for the 
signer in designated circumstances and with respect to designated property. General 
powers of attorney give the authorized party broad discretion; Special powers of 
attorney are limited in capacity. 

RE Remitter Used primarily on official checks. The remitter is the person who purchased the official 
check. This relationship is separate from the holder who turns the property over to the 
state. 

SO Sole Owner Sole Owner is used when there is only a single owner for the property, and that person 

has all rights to the ownership of the property. 

TC Tenants in Common A type of account which is owned by at least two people with no rights of survivorship 

afforded to any of the account holders. In this type of account, a surviving tenant of the 

account does not necessarily acquire the rights (and account assets) of the deceased 

person. Rather, each tenant in the account can stipulate in a written will how his/her 

assets will be distributed upon his/her death. Generally, the member ownership in the 

account is determined on a pro rata basis, meaning that if there are two tenants in the 

account, each will have a 50% claim on the account's value. 

TE Trustee A person or entity who holds the assets (corpus) of a trustee for the benefit of the 
beneficiaries and manages the trust and its assets under the terms of the trust stated in 
the Declaration of Trust which created it. 
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Code Description Definition 
   

UF Usufruct Usufruct is a real right in a property owned by another, normally for a limited time or 

until death. Simply stated, it is the right to use the property, to enjoy the fruits and 

income of the property, to rent the property out and to collect the rents, all to the 

exclusion of the underlying real or naked owner. The usufructuary has the full right to use 

the property but cannot dispose of the property nor can it be destroyed. 

UG Uniform Gift to 
Minors Act 

Property was gifted to a minor according to the Uniform Gifts to Minor’s Act (Uniform 

Transfers to Minor’s Act in some states). Regardless whether the minor has reached the 

age of majority; they should be coded with the UG relation. The custodian on the 

account should be coded as CU. 

UN Unknown Owner’s relationship to the property is not known. 

UT Uniform Transfer 
to Minor 

Property that is gifted to a minor under the Uniform Gifts to Minors Act – (UGMA). This 

act allows minors to own property such as securities. Under the UGMA, the ownership of 

the funds works like it does with any other trust except that the donor must appoint a 

custodian (the trustee) to look after the account. Regardless of whether the minor has 

reached the age of majority, they should be coded with the UG relation. The custodian 

on the account should be coded as CU. 
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NEVADA SAFEKEEPING TYPES CODES 
 

Code Description 

AMMO Ammunition 

BARG Gold Bars 

BARS Silver Bars 

BOND Savings Bonds 

CARD Sports Trading Cards 

CJWL Costume Jewelry 

COIN Various Coins 

CURR Currency 

DEPO Cash Deposit 

EYES Eyeglasses 

FCUR Foreign Currency 

JEWL Fine Jewelry 

KRUG Krugerrands 

MISC Miscellaneous Items 

PAPR Various Paperwork 

STCK Stock Certificates 

STMP Stamps / Postage 

TEET False Teeth 

TOKE Tokens 

TOOL Tools 

WATC Watch 

WEAP Weapons 

WILL Wills / Codicils to Wills 
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY REPORT/REMIT YEAR TABLES 

BUSINESS ENTITIES ONLY (NON-INSURANCE ENTITIES) 

ONE (1) YEAR PROPERTIES 
Items that were issued or had a last activity 

date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

07/01/2018 thru 06/30/2019 November 1, 2020 

07/01/2019 thru 06/30/2020 November 1, 2021 

07/01/2020 thru 06/30/2021 November 1, 2022 

07/01/2021 thru 06/30/2022 November 1, 2023 

07/01/2022 thru 06/30/2023 November 1, 2024 

07/01/2023 thru 06/30/2024 November 1, 2025 

07/01/2024 thru 06/30/2025 November 1, 2026 

07/01/2025 thru 06/30/2026 November 1, 2027 

THREE (3) YEAR PROPERTIES 
Items that were issued or had a last activity 

date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

07/01/2016 thru 06/30/2017 November 1, 2020 

07/01/2017 thru 06/30/2018 November 1, 2021 

07/01/2018 thru 06/30/2019 November 1, 2022 

07/01/2019 thru 06/30/2020 November 1, 2023 

07/01/2020 thru 06/30/2021 November 1, 2024 

07/01/2021 thru 06/30/2022 November 1, 2025 

07/01/2022 thru 06/30/2023 November 1, 2026 

07/01/2023 thru 06/30/2024 November 1, 2027 

Note: Reports and remittances that are received after the prescribed due date are subject to interest and penalties 

under the provisions of NRS 120A.730. Requests for waivers of interest may be submitted for consideration with your 

report/remittance and must include the reason(s) for late submission. Failure to request a waiver may result in the 

imposition of interest and penalties. Please contact UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov. 

mailto:UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY REPORT/REMIT YEAR TABLES 

INSURANCE ENTITIES ONLY 

ONE (1) YEAR PROPERTIES 
Items that were issued or had a last activity 

date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

01/01/2018 thru 12/31/2018 May 1, 2020 

01/01/2019 thru 12/31/2019 May 1, 2021 

01/01/2020 thru 12/31/2020 May 1, 2022 

01/01/2021 thru 12/31/2021 May 1, 2023 

01/01/2022 thru 12/31/2022 May 1, 2024 

01/01/2023 thru 12/31/2023 May 1, 2025 

01/01/2024 thru 12/31/2024 May 1, 2026 

01/01/2025 thru 12/31/2025 May 1, 2027 

THREE (3) YEAR PROPERTIES 
Items that were issued or had a last activity 

date during the period: 

Report and payment must be submitted prior to: 

01/01/2016 thru 12/31/2016 May 1, 2020 

01/01/2017 thru 12/31/2017 May 1, 2021 

01/01/2018 thru 12/31/2018 May 1, 2022 

01/01/2019 thru 12/31/2019 May 1, 2023 

01/01/2020 thru 12/31/2020 May 1, 2024 

01/01/2021 thru 12/31/2021 May 1, 2025 

01/01/2022 thru 12/31/2022 May 1, 2026 

01/01/2023 thru 12/31/2023 May 1, 2027 

Note: Reports and remittances that are received after the prescribed due date are subject to interest and penalties 

under the provisions of NRS 120A.730. Requests for waivers of interest may be submitted for consideration with your 

report/remittance and must include the reason(s) for late submission. Failure to request a waiver may result in the 

imposition of interest and penalties. Please contact UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov. 

mailto:UPAudit@nevadatreasurer.gov
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SAMPLE DUE DILIGENCE LETTER 

 
Acme Funds Corporation 

123 Abandoned Lane 

Anywhere USA 12345 
 
 
 

Date 

 

 
Owner Name 

456 Asset Road 

Jackpot USA 67890 

 
Re: Account # 

Balance $ 

Property Type: 

 
Dear Owner: 

 
We are holding unclaimed property with a value of at least $50 for the person listed above. The 

owner may claim this property by contacting us at the address, phone number or email address 

listed below. 

 
Holder Information: Company Name 

Address: 

Phone #: 

Email Address: 

 
Failure to respond by (insert the last day property will be available for refund), will result in property 

being remitted to Nevada Unclaimed Property by October 31st (April 30th for all insurance 

entities). After that date, the owner may contact the state where the property will be held in 

perpetuity and can be rightfully claimed. 

 
Sincerely, 

 
Company’s Contact Person’s Name 
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Nevada Unclaimed Property 

Frequently used forms 

UP4 - Holder Refund Request Form 

 

• This form shall be used if an owner receives unclaimed property from a holder after the property has 
previously been remitted it to the Division. 

 
UP6 - Safekeeping Inventory Form 

 

• This form shall be used for inventorying safe-deposit box contents. 

 
UP7 - Holder Request for Extension 

 

• This form shall be used for holders needing extra time to file. Approval is required. 

 
UP10 - ACH Debit Payment Exception Form 

 

• This form shall be used for holders requesting an exception for paying through ACH debit. Approval is 
required. 

 
UP12 - Online Reporting Exemption Form 

 

• This form shall be used for holders needing an exemption from reporting via the Portal. Approval is required. 

 
Form W-9 

 

• This form shall be used for holders requiring the Division’s FEIN/TIN. 

Penalty & Interest Waiver Request 

• This form shall be used for holders seeking waiver of any accrued penalties and interest. Approval is 
required. 

 
Voluntary Disclosure Agreement (VDA) and Worksheet 

 

• This form shall be used for holders seeking to participate in the Division’s Voluntary Disclosure / Amnesty 
Program. Approval is required. 

http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/UP-4_Holder_Refund_Request-Interactive.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/UP-6_Safekeeping_Inventory-Interactive.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/UP-7.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurernvgov/content/Unclaimed_Property/UP-10%20ACH%20Debit%20Exception%20Form.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/Online%20Report%20Filing%20Exception%20Form%20UP-12.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/W-9Form.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/PI_Waiver_Request.pdf
http://www.nevadatreasurer.gov/uploadedFiles/treasurer.nv.gov/content/Unclaimed_Property/Forms/Holder/VDA_Agreement_Reporting_Worksheet.pdf

