Zach Conine State Treasurer



## STATE OF NEVADA OFFICE OF THE STATE TREASURER UNCLAIMED PROPERTY

## Nevada Unclaimed Property Division Investigator Policies

The Nevada Unclaimed Property Division has established the following policies and procedures related to Investigators (Heir Finders) and the receipt of unclaimed property information from the Division.

- NRS 120A.740 requires an agreement between the owner and the business or individual acting as an heir finder or locator. There is no standard agreement form. The agreement is between the owner/heir and the locator; the state of Nevada is not a party to the agreement, however, a copy of the fully executed agreement must be provided with the claim form. NRS 120A.740 requires that all such agreements contain certain specific elements:
  - The agreement must clearly state the nature of the property, set forth the date on which the property was paid or delivered to the Administrator and the services to be rendered. It must be signed by the apparent owner and state the value of each property before and after the fee or other compensation has been deducted.
  - The agreement must set forth a statement of the provisions of NRS 120A.740, including those included in Nevada Legislative Bills now effective, but not yet included in the published statute.
  - An agreement covered by this section must not provide for compensation that is more than:
    - If the property that is the subject of the agreement was paid or delivered to the Administrator less than 5 years before the signing of the agreement, 10 percent of the total value of the property that is subject to the agreement.
    - If the property that is the subject of the agreement was paid or delivered to the Administrator 5 years or more before the signing of the agreement, 20 percent of the total value of the property that is subject to the agreement.
  - If an agreement applies to mineral proceeds, the agreement cannot contain a provision to pay compensation that includes a portion of the underlying minerals, or any mineral proceeds not presumed abandoned.
  - In addition to what is requested on the claim form and instruction sheet, all claims submitted to the Division must contain the following:
    - Signature of the original owner/heir on the claim form; and
    - Contact information for the owner/heir, including phone number, email address and mailing address
  - Checks will be made payable to the owner/heir.

Unclaimed Property Division 555 E. Washington Ave Suite 5200 Las Vegas, Nevada 89101 (800) 521-0019 Toll Free (702) 486-4140 Telephone (702) 486-4177 Fax

Website: https://www.NevadaTreasurer.gov

- An agreement by an owner, the primary purpose of which is to locate, deliver, recover or assist in the recovery of property that is presumed abandoned, is void and unenforceable if it was entered into during the period commencing on the date the property was presumed abandoned and extending to a time that is 24 months after the date the property is paid or delivered to the Division. The section does not apply to an owner's agreement with an attorney to file a claim as to identified property or contest the Division's denial of a claim.
- Investigators may request a property list by submitting a written request to Nevada Unclaimed Property Division, 555 E Washington Avenue, Suite 5200, Las Vegas, NV 89101.
  - The list, in .pdf format on a CD-R disc, will be mailed upon receipt of proof of valid government issued identification (copy of driver's license, passport or permanent resident card), your email address, telephone number, and a check or money order for \$25.
  - o The list:
    - Is updated each year in January and July;
    - Contains properties valued at \$5,000 and over;
    - Is mailed via United States Postal Service
    - Contains the following information only:
      - Owner name(s) and addresses as reported by the holder;
      - Property Identification Number;
      - Date the Property was paid or delivered to the State;
      - Number of shares of stock or mutual funds;
      - Property's cash value;
      - Description of the unclaimed property (i.e. property type)
      - Name of the holder (who reported the property to the State of Nevada); and
      - Limited to properties which were paid or delivered to the State more than 24 months prior.

Please direct all inquiries to the Nevada Office of the State Treasurer, Unclaimed Property Division, 555 E. Washington Ave, Suite 5200, Las Vegas, NV 89101 or to UnclaimedProperty@nevadatreasurer.gov.